Archive for April 23rd, 2012

(Cliff Welch/Icon SMI)

NHL Playoff Blues? Check Out the Norfolk Admirals

With so much of the NHL’s recent royalty now sidelined for the season, there’s more than a few dejected fans out there right now. The Sharks, Wings, Canucks, and Penguins […]

by · April 23, 2012 · Comments are Disabled · AHL, Humor, Minor League Report, Tampa Bay Lightning, Top 10 Lists
Did the Coyotes Miss The Chance of Lifetime?

Did the Coyotes Miss The Chance of Lifetime?

There are numerous cliches you could use to describe what happened to the Coyotes on Saturday night, but let’s stick with this one: So close, yet so far away. Many […]

by · April 23, 2012 · Comments are Disabled · Arizona Coyotes, Chicago Blackhawks
Five Dos and Don’ts for the Jets’ Offseason

Five Dos and Don’ts for the Jets’ Offseason

The Winnipeg Jets (version 2.0) just completed their long awaited dream season, returning to the city after an absence of big league hockey in Winnipeg for the previous 15 years […]

by · April 23, 2012 · Comments are Disabled · Winnipeg Jets
Michael Frolik (BridgetDS/Flickr)

Michael Frolik’s Resurgence a Major Factor to Blackhawks Comeback

If I was to ask Blackhawks fans who the ‘Hawks leading scorers would be after the first five game of the playoffs would be the unanimous answers would be Jonathan […]

by · April 23, 2012 · 1 comment · Chicago Blackhawks
Lady Byng, left with husband Lord Byng, first recognized sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct in hockey in 1925.

Gentlemanly Brian Campbell Finalist For The Lady Byng Memorial Trophy

Earlier in the NHL season, I wrote about Brian Campbell and his chance to win the Norris Trophy for the National Hockey League’s best defenseman. Campbell had an outstanding regular […]

by · April 23, 2012 · Comments are Disabled · Florida Panthers

Giroux’s First Shift Set Tone For Flyers

In a series full of lost leads, ridiculous amounts of goals, and more than its share of penalty minutes, it didn’t seem like the first 30 seconds of any game […]

by · April 23, 2012 · Comments are Disabled · Philadelphia Flyers
Critchlow has been a great leader this season (Remi Senechal- The Canadian Press)

The Next Undrafted Gem? Cameron Critchlow

Cameron Critchlow DOB: December 18, 1991 NHL Rights: N/A Drafted: Undrafted Height: 5’10″  Weight: 190 lbs Position: Left Winger Current Team: Halifax Mooseheads (QMJHL) ◊◊◊◊ Never known for his offensive […]

by · April 23, 2012 · Comments are Disabled · CHL, National Juniors, Player Profiles, Prospects, QMJHL
New York Rangers on Brink of Elimination

New York Rangers on Brink of Elimination

Clinching the Eastern Conference was the first task at hand. Now, the deep playoff run that the New York Rangers wanted to add to their storybook season is in jeopardy […]

(Kevin Hoffman-US PRESSWIRE)

Amerks: Alex Biega interview

Alex Biega is a 6 feet 3 inch 209 pound defenseman currently playing for the Rochester Americans in the AHL. The Buffalo Sabres selected Biega in the 5th round (147th) […]

Max Pacioretty is one of four players who have a very good chance at taking home the Masterton Trophy this summer (Icon SMI)

Who Will Capture the Masterton Trophy?

The time has come for the National Hockey League to announce the finalists for each individual award, with Adam Henrique, Ryan Nugent-Hopkins and Gabriel Landeskog already having been named the final three up for the honours of the Calder Trophy, David Backes, Patrice Bergeron and Pavel Datsyuk up for the Selke Trophy, and Brian Campbell, Jordan Eberle and Matt Moulson up for the Lady Byng Trophy

The New York Islanders will move to the Barclays Center in 2015, so Islanders fans could get a glimpse of what the future holds in late September.

Gary Bettman Misses the Point with Islanders Relocation Comments

Recently, Gary Bettman made a statement regarding the New York Islanders and a possible move to Brooklyn. Bettman stated that it would be hard for the fan base in Long […]

by · April 23, 2012 · 12 comments · New York Islanders, News
Marc-Andre Fleury makes Hockey Canada nervous, but he's an important piece on "Canada 2". (Charles LeClaire-US PRESSWIRE)

5 Reasons Why the Penguins Faltered Against the Flyers

The Pittsburgh Penguins and Philadelphia Flyers series will go down as one of the wildest series of all-time in NHL playoff hockey history. There were many incidents throughout this series […]