Benn, Holtby, Kane Named Ted Lindsay Award Finalists

The NHL announced Jamie Benn, Braden Holtby and Patrick Kane as the league’s three Ted Lindsay Award Finalists, honoring “the most outstanding player in the NHL as voted by members of the National Hockey League Players’ Association.”

Benn, who is also a Hart Finalist, helped Dallas to the best record in the Western Conference this season, hitting a career-high 41 goals and 89 points, one year after winning the Art Ross Trophy for most points in the NHL. He ranked second in the league in points and third in goals, playing in all 82 games for the Stars, and carrying them through a rough stretch at the end of the season when they were without Tyler Seguin.

Holtby was a key to the Capitals’ success this season. They won the Presidents’ Trophy on the back of his 48 wins, which tied Martin Brodeur’s record for the most wins in a single season. His .922 save percentage ranked fifth among goaltenders who played at least 30 games. He’s also a Vezina Trophy finalist.

Kane started the season with a record-breaking 26-game point streak, setting a franchise record, the longest streak by an American-born player and the longest streak since the 1992-93 season.

He led the NHL with 106 points, en route to becoming the first American to win the scoring race and setting personal best marks in goals (46) and points. Kane is also a Hart finalist.

The winner will be announced at the NHL Awards in Las Vegas on June 22.