Eriksson, Bergeron Receive Award Nominations

Although the Bruins might not be taking home any hardware this year, two of their players have the opportunity to brighten up the trophy case.

The National Hockey League announced today that right wing Loui Eriksson was nominated for the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy along with Los Angeles Kings center Anze Kopitar and Florida Panthers center Aleksander Barkov. Center Patrice Bergeron was nominated for the Frank J. Selke Trophy on Thursday along with Kopitar and Anaheim Ducks center Ryan Kesler.

The Lady Byng is awarded to the player who is “judged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability.” Eriksson, who was nominated back in 2011, recorded a mere 12 penalty minutes in 82 games played. Eriksson scored 30 goals and posted 63 points playing in all three forward positions. If he wins, he will be the sixth Bruin to claim the award in its 89 year. Previous Bruins who won the Lady Byng include Jean Ratelle, Johnny Bucyk, Don McKenney, Rick Middleton and Bobby Bauer (three time recipient).

Bergeron is once again a nominee for the Selke Trophy, awarded to the best defensive forward in the league. He’s been nominated for five consecutive seasons, won the award three times before and is the defending Selke Trophy recipient. Bergeron scored 32 goals and 68 points in 80 games this season, facing off against the opposing team’s best players night in and night out. Bergeron is the heart and soul of the Bruins and doesn’t take competition lightly. He led the Eastern Conference in defensive zone face-off wins. He’s tied for second all-time in Selke Trophy award winners with Guy Carbonneau, Jere Lehtinen and Pavel Datsyuk. If he can beat out Kopitar and Kesler, he would tie Datsyuk with three consecutive victories and be one shy of Montreal Canadiens legend Bob Gainey.