Canadian Women’s Team Invites 44 to Fall Festival

44 players have been invited by Hockey Canada to the 2016 fall festival, the first step on the road to naming the country’s national team roster for the 2017 IIHF Women’s World Championship.

The camp will feature the group split into two teams playing eight games over a seven-day period at the Markin MacPhail Centre in Calgary, Alberta.

All 44 players will play with an eye toward impressing the national team staff including coaches Laura Schuler, Dwayne Gylywoychuk and Troy Ryan, as well as general manager Melody Davidson.

“The Fall Festival is a critical touchpoint for the players in our program as they come together for the first time on the ice this season with our coaching staff,” said Davidson in a statement. “These 44 players have worked hard to earn their invites and this is a great opportunity for them to show if they have what it takes to represent Canada at the senior level on the international stage throughout the 2016-17 season.”

22 of the players hitting camp won silver with Canada at the 2016 World Championship and 16 were on the gold medal-winning national team at the 2014 Sochi Olympics. 31 players slated to attend camp are expected to suit up for teams in the Canadian Women’s Hockey League (CWHL).

Full Camp Roster Below:

Ann-Renée Desbiens
Erica Howe
Emerance Maschmeyer
Shannon Szabados
Charline Labonté (not attending camp)

Erin Ambrose
Courtney Birchard
Sarah Edney
Renata Fast
Laura Fortino
Katelyn Gosling
Micah Hart
Halli Krzyzaniak
Brigette Lacquette
Jocelyne Lacquette
Meaghan Mikkelson
Lauriane Rougeau
Tara Watchorn

Meghan Agosta
Victoria Bach
Bailey Bram
Jessica Campbell
Emily Clark
Mélodie Daoust
Sarah Davis
Haley Irwin
Brianne Jenner
Rebecca Johnston
Jenelle Kohanchuk
Sarah Lefort
Rebecca Leslie
Sarah Nurse
Amy Potomak
Sarah Potomak
Marie-Philip Poulin
Jamie Lee Rattray
Jillian Saulnier
Sophie Shirley
Natalie Spooner
Laura Stacey
Kelly Terry
Blayre Turnbull
Jennifer Wakefield
Hayley Wickenheiser