Rangers Feeling Presidential

Playoffs …clinched. Division …clinched. Conference …clinched. League …clinched. The Presidents’ Trophy belongs to The New York Rangers!

“It’s not an easy thing to do,” Rangers coach Alain Vigneault said. “You look at the teams still fighting to get into the playoffs. It’s a challenging thing. For our group, it’s one thing in the direction that we’re looking to get to.”

(Adam Hunger-USA TODAY Sports)
(Adam Hunger-USA TODAY Sports)

The last time the Rangers earned the Presidents’ Trophy for the most points during the NHL regular season, they went on to win Stanley Cup. Since the 2002-03 season, only the Detroit Red Wings (2007-08) and the Chicago Blackhawks (2012-13) have captured the President’s Trophy and gone on to win the Stanley Cup. There’s no telling how far the Rangers will get in the postseason but they’ll sure hope history repeats itself.

The Rangers are the 2nd NHL team to win the Presidents’ Trophy at least 3 times and the 1st team to win the trophy 3 times while playing in the Eastern Conference.

Hats Off For AV

The Rangers reached the Stanley Cup Final for the first time in 20 years last season under head coach Alain Vigneault. AV has now lead his team to the top of the League and is the 2nd Head Coach in NHL history who has earned a Presidents’ Trophy 3 times in his career since Scotty Bowman.

Cam Talbot – Extra Effort Award

The award, which has been given annually since the 1987-88 season was awarded to Rangers backup goalie Cam Talbot. Talbot’s extra effort was his remarkable success in replacement of Henrik Lundqvist during the starting goaltender’s seven-week absence. From Feb. 4 through March 26, Talbot posted a 16-4-3 record, 2.16 goals against average, .929 save percentage, and two shutouts in 23 appearances.

Talbot has a 21-9-4 overall record, a 2.21 GAA, a .926 save percentage and five shutouts in 35 appearances. He is fifth in the NHL in save percentage, ranks fourth in the NHL in GAA, and is tied for eighth in the league in shutouts.

Rick Nash – MVP

Rick Nash swept the Rangers’ 2014-15 MVP and Players’ Player awards, the team announced Thursday. Nash has skated in 79 games in 2014-15, registering a career-high 42 goals and 27 assists for 69 points.

Nash is the eighth Ranger who has won both the MVP and Players’ Player award in the same season since 1958-59, joining the élite company of John Vanbiesbrouck (1985-86), James Patrick (1987-88), Adam Graves (1992-93), Mark Messier (1995-96), Mike Richter (1999-00), Brian Leetch (2000-01 and 2002-03), and current Rangers captain Ryan McDonagh (2013-14).

Since 1993-94

New York tied a franchise record for wins (52) and are one-point away from tying the franchise mark they set in 1993-94, the last time they won the Stanley Cup.

Adding to the hype of the 93-94 similarities is the Rangers sweeping a season series against the New Jersey Devils for the first time since then.


The Rangers have had a terrific regular season and anything less than a Stanley Cup to accommodate all their season high accomplishments would be a travesty.