Mike Richter Award Finalists Announced

Let’s Play Hockey and the Herb Brooks Foundation have announced the finalists for the Mike Richter Award, which honors the best goaltender in collegiate hockey.

The finalists are:

  • Kevin Boyle, Sr., UMASS Lowell
  • Thatcher Demko, Jr., Boston College
  • Cam Johnson, So., North Dakota
  • Charlie Lindgren, Jr., St. Cloud State
  • Alex Lyon, Jr., Yale
  • This list is culled from their previously announced list of 36 nominees.

    Among the finalists, Demko may be the favorite. He is a Hobey Baker Finalist and the only goaltender up for the award. He got that nod on the back of 10 shutouts and an impressive .938 save percentage. Demko is also the only goaltender on the list who has been selected in a NHL entry draft.

    That .938 is tied with Johnson and Lyon for the best save percentage among Richter Award finalists. Lindgren boasts the most wins with 28, followed by Demko at 25.

    Previous recipients of the award include North Dakota’s Zane McIntyre, the 2015 winner who signed with the Boston Bruins in June, and Winnipeg’s Connor Hellebuyck, who won back in 2014 playing for UMASS Lowell.

    The winner will be announced as a part of the Frozen Four festivities in Tampa, Florida on April 7 and 9.

    RELATED: Union’s Mike Vecchione Will Return for Senior Season

    Can’t get enough hockey? Want to talk about it with our writers, and fellow fans? Join The Hockey Writers Group on Facebook today!