New Jersey Devils Top 10 June Moments

When it comes to June hockey, the New Jersey Devils have plenty to celebrate in their history. The Devils have played into the sixth month of the year on five occasions and came away with three Stanley Cup titles. In addition to those championships, New Jersey’s players and coaches have brought home a good deal of individual hardware.

10.) Ken Daneyko wins Bill Masterton Trophy and Scott Gomez wins Calder Trophy, June 15, 2000:

After overcoming a bout with alcoholism, Daneyko made it all the way back to the top of the mountain. His perseverance and dedication paid off and Daneyko was awarded the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy.

Registering 19 goals, 51 helpers and 70 points, Gomez became the first center in Devils history to win the Calder Memorial Trophy, as the league’s top rookie.

9.) Martin Brodeur wins Calder Trophy and Jacques Lemaire wins Jack Adams Trophy, June 16, 1994:

Brodeur and Peter Sidorkiewicz became the hockey version of Lou Gehrig and Wally Pipp. An injury to “El Sid,” opened the door for Marty and he took full advantage. Brodeur would start his campaign with a 3-0 ledger and eventually tie a club record with an eleven game winning streak. Across 47 contests, Brodeur won 27 games, recorded three shutouts, a 2.40 goals against average and a .915 save percentage. Brodeur became the first Devil and New Jersey goalie to win the Calder Memorial Trophy.

Bringing a winning culture from the Montreal Canadiens, Lemaire turned the Devils into an instant contender in his first year at the helm. Earning the Jack Adams Trophy as top bench boss, Lemaire led New Jersey to its highest point total (106) in franchise history, going 47-25-12, second best in the league. Lemaire brought the Devils to within a Game 7 overtime goal of reaching the Stanley Cup Final in 1994.

8.) John Madden wins Frank J. Selke Trophy, June 2001:

A superb all-around forward, Madden became the first Devil to be awarded the Selke Trophy. After netting a league and franchise best six short-handed tallies as a rookie in 1999-00, Madden netted three more in 2000-01. During the postseason, Madden went toe to toe with the likes of Mario Lemieux, Mats Sundin and Ron Francis.

7.) Scott Niedermayer wins Norris Trophy, June 11, 2004:

With Daneyko retired and Scott Stevens limited to 38 games, Niedermayer stepped out of the shadow so to speak. In his final season with New Jersey, Niedermayer served as team captain and became the first player in franchise history to be awarded with the Norris Trophy. An All-Star, Niedermayer recorded a plus-20 rating and was tops in defensive point shares.

6.) Martin Brodeur wins four Vezina Trophy Awards, June (2003, 2004, 2007, 2008):

After helping the Devils win a third Stanley Cup title, Brodeur earned his first Vezina Trophy. In 2002-03, Brodeur led the league with 41 victories and nine shutouts. That postseason, Brodeur set an NHL record with seven shutouts. The following season, Brodeur led the league with 75 games, 38 wins, eleven shutouts and 4,555 minutes.

Two seasons later, Brodeur earned his third Vezina Trophy. In 2006-07, Brodeur set an NHL regular season record with 48 victories and led the league with 12 shutouts, 78 games and 2,011 saves. Brodeur would take home the award the next season as well.

5.) Game 6 Eastern Conference Finals 4-2, June 13, 1995:

YouTube player

Facing the rival Philadelphia Flyers at Brendan Byrne Arena, the Devils had the chance to advance to the Stanley Cup Final. Learning a lesson from the year before, New Jersey finished its business on home ice. Richer, Brian Rolston, Randy McKay and Claude Lemieux all tallied in the Devils’ victory. It was the first Eastern Conference title for New Jersey.

4.) Game 1 Stanley Cup Final 2-1, June 17, 1995:

YouTube player

Playing in their first Stanley Cup Final game at Detroit, against a Red Wings team which was 8-0 in the postseason to that point. Richer and Lemieux netted the Devils goals and New Jersey took a 1-0 series lead.

3.) Game 7 Stanley Cup Final 3-0, June 9, 2003:

The Devils clinched their third Stanley Cup title in Game 7, against the Anaheim Ducks. Michael Rupp scored the series clinching goal and Jeff Friesen notched the final two for good measure. Brodeur turned aside all 24 shots sent his way, recording a single playoff record seven shutouts. Daneyko skated off on top of the hockey world.

2.) Game 6 Stanley Cup Final 2-1 OT, June 10, 2000:

The Devils clinched their second Stanley Cup title and first on the road. In double overtime, Jason Arnott one timed a feed from Patrik Elias and sealed the deal for the Devils. Stevens was awarded the Conn Smythe Trophy.

1.) Game 4 Stanley Cup Final 5-2, June 24, 1995:

On home ice and going for the first Stanley Cup title in franchise history, the Devils finished off the sweep. As they had in Game 3, New Jersey again won by a score of 5-2. Neal Broten tallied twice, including the eventual game winner. Shawn Chambers also scored two goals. Sergei Brylin netted a goal as well. Lemieux was awarded the Conn Smythe Trophy with a postseason best 13 goals.