QMJHL Playoffs Schedule Announced

The Quebec Major Junior Hockey League (QMJHL) has finished up its 47th season. 16 teams are ready to begin the path toward a champion and a Memorial Cup berth. Sunday, the league announced the QMJHL playoffs schedule and seeding.

The eighth ranked Rimouski Oceanic will look to repeat as QMJHL champions after an impressive championship comeback against the Québec Remparts.

Rimouski started the series down two games to none, before forcing the series to go the distance and winning Game 7 in double overtime. In fact, the series was so tight that the last three games all went to overtime, with Rimouski taking two of those three matches.

The opening round will begin on Friday, March 25 with the latest possible Game 7s scheduled for April 5.

Opening Round Match-Ups:
No. 1 Rouyn-Noranda Huskies vs. No. 16 Drummondville Voltigeurs
No. 2 Shawinigan Cataractes vs. No. 15 Shebrooke Phoenix
No. 3 Saint John Sea Dogs vs. No. 14 Acadie-Bathurst Titan
No. 4 Val-D’Or Foreurs vs. No. 13 Blainville-Boisbriand Armada
No. 5 Québec Remparts vs. No. 12 Gatineau Olympiques
No. 6 Moncton Wildcats vs. No. 11 Victoriaville Tigers
No. 7 Cape Breton Screaming Eagles vs. No. 10 Chicoutimi Saguenéens
No. 8 Rimouski Océanic vs. No. 9 Charlottetown Islanders

That leaves just the Halifax Moosehead (21-39-7-1) and Baie-Comeau Drakkar (14-49-2-3) outside of the postseason.

RELATED: NCAA Frozen Four Tournament Bracket Revealed

RELATED: OHL Playoffs Schedule and Seeding Announced

RELATED: WHL Playoffs Schedule, Seeding and Play-In Announced