The Anaheim Ducks Franchise Four

The Franchise Four. The Mount Rushmore. Four players who tell the story of an organization. In this series I’ll be taking a look at the history of all 30 NHL squads. For criteria, I’m choosing one forward, defenceman, goaltender and a wild card from any position.

With the Anaheim Ducks, the choice is easy but not without some controversy. Not making the cut, Paul Kariya or Ryan Getzlaf. Yes, Kariya was the first star and face of the franchise and a courageous player but when you allow yourself only one forward and a wild card, you’ll see below why he’s not in.

Jean-Sebastien Giguere

4.) Jean-Sebastien Giguere – At goaltender, “Giggy” gets the nod. In nine seasons with the Ducks, Giguere posted 206 victories and a .914 save percentage. During Anaheim’s run to the 2006-07 Stanley Cup run, Giguere flaunted a 1.97 goals against average. Plus, in 2002-03, Giguere in a losing effort was awarded the Conn Smythe Trophy, registering a .945 save percentage, 1.62 goals against average and five shutouts.

Scott Niedermayer

3.) Scott Niedermayer – On the blue line, along with Chris Pronger, Niedermayer already a thrice a Stanley Cup champion, showed the Ducks how to climb to the mountain top. Niedermayer was a two-time All-Star with Anaheim. In 2006-07, Niedermayer won the Conn Smythe Trophy, tallying eleven points and a pair of game winning goals in overtime.

Corey Perry

2.) Corey Perry – My wild card pick of this foursome. Perry is third and soon to be second in franchise history with 296 markers. Perry also ranks fourth in total points (602) and should move into third at the conclusion of the 2015-16 campaign. Plus, Perry has 32 goals and 74 points in 90 playoff contests. Perry’s numbers are only going to continue accumulating and his 2010-11 season, which encompassed a Hart Memorial Trophy and the Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy, place him near the top. How deep was the 2003 NHL Entry Draft? Perry was taken in the first round at pick number 28.

Corey Perry (Gary A. Vasquez-USA TODAY Sports)
Corey Perry. (Gary A. Vasquez-USA TODAY Sports)

Teemu Selanne

1.) Teemu Selanne – Was there any doubt? The beloved Selanne rates first in club history in games (966), goals (457), assists (531) and points (988). Across two stints with Anaheim, Selanne won the Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy in 1998-99 and the Bill Masterson Trophy in 2005-06. Selanne was twice a 50 goal scorer and amassed 40 or more in a season, five times with the Ducks. While helping Anaheim win the 2006-07 Stanley Cup, Selanne registered 15 points in 21 postseason contests.

Teemu Selanne
Teemu Selanne. (Rob Grabowski-USA TODAY Sports)