Barrie, Hoffman Among 23 NHL Arbitration Cases

The NHL’s offseason is ongoing as 23 restricted free agents await their fate – pending the arbitration period. With the draft and free agent frenzy already behind us, NHL arbitration hearings will start in Toronto on July 20 and go right up to August 4.

Teams that request arbitration can only do so for players once over their respective careers. These particular players would receive no less than 85 percent of their salary from the previous year.

However, if a player requests salary arbitration, there is no restriction on what could be awarded to the player by the arbitrator. On top of that, players can request arbitration as often as they want over their careers.

Decisions on the term will be made within a 48-hour window from each hearing. A team can then walk away from the concluded contract and players can become unrestricted free agents and sign with other teams.

This year, there are some significant names filing for arbitration – including Tyson Barrie, Chris Kreider and Mike Hoffman.

Last season, Barrie was tied for 13th in defensive scoring with 49 points (13g-36a) in 78 games. While his minus-16 rating wasn’t ideal for the Colorado Avalanche, he was a major part of their power play all season long. His 13 goals had him ranked 15th in the league in goals by defensemen.

Hoffman finished third on the Senators in scoring with 59 points (29g-30a) in 78 games. He had the most power play goals on the team (9) and finished first on the team in goal scoring (29). Hoffman’s coming off a contract that saw him earn $2-million in 2015-16.

Here’s a list of the 23 players electing for salary arbitration.

  • Michael Stone (ARZ)
  • Tyson Barrie (COL)
  • Mikhail Grigorenko (COL)
  • Danny DeKeyser (DET)
  • Jordan Schroeder (MIN)
  • Petter Granberg (NSH)
  • Calle Jarnkrok (NSH)
  • Kyle Palmieri (NJD)
  • Kevin Hayes (NYR)
  • Chris Kreider (NYR)
  • Dylan McIlrath (NYR)
  • Jonathan Miller (NYR)
  • Mike Hoffman (OTT)
  • Brandon Manning (PHI)
  • Brayden Schenn (PHI)
  • Jordan Weal (PHI)
  • Jaden Schwartz (STL)
  • Alex Killorn (TBL)
  • Vladislav Namestnikov (TBL)
  • Frank Corrado (TOR)
  • Peter Holland (TOR)
  • Martin Marincin (TOR)
  • Marcus Johansson (WSH)