Docs Menu

Casey Borer

Born:July 28, 1985Draft: 2004 Hurricanes, 69th Overall
Hometown:Minneapolis, MinnesotaPosition:Defense
Known For:Fred T. Hunt Trophy (2010)Shoots:Left
National Team:United StatesCurrent Status:Retired

Casey Borer (born July 28, 1985) is a former American ice hockey player, having played his final year in the NHL with the Carolina Hurricanes during the 2009-2010 season. Drafted 69th overall by the Hurricanes in the 2004 NHL Entry Draft, Borer jumped to the pros after serving as the captain to St. Cloud State University of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA). He recorded back-to-back 11-point seasons and registered a plus-15 rating in that span.

Making his NHL debut in the 2007-08 season, Borer appeared in 11 games, recording one goal and three points. He spent his year primarily in the American Hockey League (AHL) with the Albany River Rats, where he put up 19 points in 61 games during his rookie year. He struggled to get playing time at the NHL level during the next two seasons, appearing in five games, but he suffered a series of unfortunate events. In 2008, a hit suffered in an AHL game brought an end to his year due to the injury requiring surgery on his knee. The following season, Borer once again faced a season-ending injury, this time to his C5 cervical vertebra suffered in a bus accident in Albany.

Borer made a full recovery and returned to the AHL to play for the Charlotte Checkers in the 2010-11 season. He recorded two goals and 14 points in 67 games, but opted to part ways with Carolina following the conclusion of the season. Borer played one year with HC Pardubice of the Czechia league before joining the Deutsch Hockey League (DEL). He appeared in two seasons with the Nürnberg Ice Tigers and two more with Eisbären Berlin. He retired in 2019 after stops in the Asia League and Germany’s second-tier pro league.

Casey Borer Statistics

Deeper Dive


  • Mac’s Midget AAA Tournament Champion (2001)
  • USA U17 National Champion (2001)
  • AHL Sportsmanship (Fred T. Hunt Trophy) (2010)
  • Czech Extraliga Champion (2012)