From Abdelkader to Zuccarello – 27 April 2011

Did you work late last night? Did your significant other make you run errands while the game was on? Did your dog chew off your TV cable wires?

Have no fear – THW’s Monica McAlister has your back, covering everything in the hockey world from From Abdelkader to Zuccarello every morning. Check in daily to quickly get up to speed on all things hockey – recaps, storylines, videos and great links.

2011 NHL Playoff Coverage

Boston Bruins 1 Montreal Canadiens 2 Game 6; Series tied 3-3

It would be two penalties within four seconds for the Bruins that would lead to a power play goal by Michael Cammalleri. Cammalleri put a slap shot past Tim Thomas on the 5-on-3 to take the early lead in the game.

With two penalties in the final 30 seconds of the period to Canadiens Andrej Kostitsyn and Bruins Patrice Bergeron set up for the second period to start four-on-four. It took Boston’s Dennis Seidenberg to net his first of the post season with a wrist shot past Carey Price.

With Shawn Thornton serving Lucic’s five minute major Patrice Bergeron would get an automatic penalty for putting the puck over the glass which lead to another power play goal for Montreal to give them the lead that would force the series back to Boston for a game seven tonight.

Buffalo Sabres 2 Philadelphia Flyers 5 – Flyers move on to Round Two

It would be a late period goal in the final 20 seconds of the first period, off of the face off, that would see Braydon Coburn score his first of the post season at the most opportune time for the Flyers giving them the lead in game seven.

An early penalty in the second period to Buffalo’s Tyler Myers would lead to Danny Briere doubling the lead for Philadelphia; minutes later James van Riemsdyk would make it 3-0 on yet another Flyers power play after Chris Butler was called for hooking.

It would be a slap shot goal from Ville Leino less than two minutes into the third period to make it 4-0 Flyers that would see the Sabres pull Ryan Miller from net.

Sabres Myers’ would score his first of the post season to get Buffalo on the scoreboard.

Daniel Carcillo would go backhand on Jhonas Enroth and make it 5-1 for the Flyers over the Sabres midway though the third period of game seven.

Shortly after his goal Carcillo would be given a misconduct and a game misconduct while Sabres Nathan Gerbe would get a misconduct only to be followed by a holding penalty on Flyers defeseman Kimmo Timonen that would lead to the second goal for the Sabres. Brad Boyes would tip-in a shot from Derek Roy on the power play to make the final score 5-2 as the Flyers move on to the second round.

Chicago Blackhawks 1 Vancouver Canucks 2 (OT) Canucks move on to Round Two

It took 38 shots on goal and extra time for the Canucks to defeat the defending Stanley Cup champions in game seven.

It took Alexandere Burrows just over two minutes into the game to put a slap shot past Corey Crawford to give the Canucks the lead.

The next goal would not come until the final two minutes of the third period when Chicago’s captain Jonathan Toews would score his first of the post season with a wrist shot past Roberto Luongo while the Blackhawks were on the penalty kill after Duncan Keith had been called for hooking.

With the game tied it would take extra time to decide which team would move on to the second round. Just 24 seconds into overtime it would be Canucks Alexandre Burrows whom would be called for holding to give the Blackhawks the power play.

Chicago failed to capitalize on the power play and two minutes after Burrows penalty expired he would put an unassisted slap shot past Crawford to defeat the defending champions and move on to the second round where the Canucks will face off against the Nashville Predators.

Up into the Netting

The NHL announced the three finalist for the Bill Masterson Memorial Trophy for perseverance and dedication to hockey:

Ray Emery – Anaheim Ducks
Daymond Langkow – Calgary Flames
Ian Laperriere – Philadelphia Flyers

Later today the NHL will announce the three finalist for the Frank J. Selke Trophy awarded to the top defensive forward.

Islanders forward Jesse Joensuu is set to replace Joni Peltonen for team Finland at World due to injury.

Team USA will be adding Anaheim Ducks rookie defenseman Cam Fowler along with New York Rangers Derek Stepan and Ryan McDonagh to the roster for Worlds.

Did Flyers Michael Leighton go AWOL after he started game six?

IIHF says that European participation in the NHL is continuing to drop.

The North American Hockey Leagues (NAHL) Michigan Warriors are making a playoff push in their inaugural season.

Today’s NHL Playoff Lineup

Tampa Bay Lightning at Pittsburgh Penguins Game 7
8:00 p.m. EST

Montreal Canadiens and Boston Bruins Game 6
7:00 p.m. EST on RDS and CBC

1 thought on “From Abdelkader to Zuccarello – 27 April 2011”

Comments are closed.