Gophers Name Captains for 2016-17 Season

The University of Minnesota Golden Gophers, fresh off back-to-back national championships, have announced the team’s captains for the 2016-17 season. Taking the reins will be senior Lee Stecklein, who was co-captain last season with departing senior Hannah Brandt. She will be joined by seniors Kate Schipper and Dani Cameranesi, who will serve as assistant captains.

“They are all great players, but more importantly, they are the type of people that represent our program in a first class manner,” said head coach Brad Frost. “The three of them are team-first, devoted, and very disciplined. We are looking forward to another great year of Gopher women’s hockey.”

RELATED: Amanda Kessel Talks NWHL and Why She Chose the Riveters

Stecklein, an Olympian, has had a letter since her sophomore year. She was the first sophomore to wear a letter since Bobbi Ross in the 2005-06 season.

Being an Olympian is just part of Stecklein’s impressive resume. Last season she was a Second Team All-American, All-USCHO Second Team, and All-WCHA First Team. She’s also a two-time Patty Kazmaier Award finalist. She was also selected second overall in the 2016 NWHL Junior Draft by the Buffalo Beauts.

The Gophers will look to win their fifth championship in the last six season starting on September 30 with a home series against Lindenwood University.