OHL All-Star Teams Announced

The Ontario Hockey League (OHL) announced their All-Star teams for the 2015-16 OHL season on Friday, after being selected by the OHL’s General Managers.

Toronto Maple Leafs prospect Mitch Marner of the London Knights headlines the First Team All-Stars at Right Wing for the second straight season.  Marner was the league’s Red Tilson Trophy recipient for Most Outstanding Player of the Year and became the first player in OHL history to win that award followed by OHL Playoff MVP honours, CHL Player of the Year, and MasterCard Memorial Cup MVP.

He is joined on the first team’s top line by London teammates Christian Dvorak (Arizona Coyotes prospect) and Matthew Tkachuk (2016 NHL Draft prospect). The three of them combined this past season for 344 regular season points, and their naming to the First All-Star Team marks just the fifth time in league history, and first since the 2001, where all three forward positions are from the same team.

The first team is rounded out by 2016 draft eligible, OHL Defenceman of the Year, Mikhail Sergachev (Windsor Spitfires), Flames prospect Rasmus Andersson (Barrie Colts), Devils prospect, and OHL Goaltender of the Year, Mackenzie Blackwood (Barrie Colts). OHL Coach of the Year, Kris Knoblauch of the Erie Otters, will be the bench boss of the All-Stars top team.

The Erie Otters lead the way with a total of five representatives including Knoblauch, Second Team All-Stars Travis Dermott (Maple Leafs prospect) and goalie Devin Williams, and Third Team All-Stars Dylan Strome (Coyotes prospect) and 2016 NHL Draft prospect Alex DeBrincat.  The London Knights and Barrie Colts can tout four All-Stars each.

Players were voted on by position and received five points for a first place vote, three for a second place vote, and one for a third place vote.  In the case of defencemen, the top two selections received five points, the third and fourth selections received three points, and the fifth and sixth selections each received a single point.

2015-16 OHL All-Star Teams (voting points listed following team):

First Team All-Stars:
C – Christian Dvorak (London Knights) 62
LW – Matthew Tkachuk (London Knights) 56
RW – Mitch Marner (London Knights) 71 – voted 1st team in 2014-15
D – Mikhail Sergachev (Windsor Spitfires) 64
D – Rasmus Andersson (Barrie Colts) 61 – voted 2nd team in 2014-15
G – Mackenzie Blackwood (Barrie Colts) 49
Coach – Kris Knoblauch (Erie Otters) 73

Second Team All-Stars:
C – Mike Amadio (North Bay Battalion) 61
LW – Andrew Mangiapane (Barrie Colts) 46
RW – Kevin Labanc (Barrie Colts) 69
D – Travis Dermott (Erie Otters) 50
D – Jakob Chychrun (Sarnia Sting) 42 – voted 3rd team in 2014-15
G – Devin Williams (Erie Otters) 47
Coach – Rocky Thompson (Windsor Spitfires) 36

Third Team All-Stars:
C – Dylan Strome (Erie Otters) 51 – voted 2nd team in 2014-15
LW – Alexander Nylander (Mississauga Steelheads) 34
RW – Alex DeBrincat (Erie Otters) 22 – voted 2nd team in 2014-15
D – Olli Juolevi (London Knights) 38
D – Roland McKeown (Kingston Frontenacs) 37
G – Alex Nedeljkovic (Niagara IceDogs) 46 – voted 3rd team in 2014-15, 1st team in 2013-14
Coach – Mike Van Ryn (Kitchener Rangers) 22

Visit our THW Newsdesk for the latest all-day everyday hockey news from around the world, and follow us on Twitter, like our Facebook Page, and join the debates in our Facebook Group.