The Vancouver Canucks Franchise Four

The Franchise Four. The Mount Rushmore. Four players who tell the story of an organization. In this series, I’ll be taking a look at the history of all 30 NHL squads. For criteria, I’m choosing one forward, defenceman, goaltender and a wild card from any position.

Since entering the NHL in 1970, the Vancouver Canucks have reached the Stanley Cup Final on three occasions.

During said time frame, the Canucks have iced the likes of, Henrik Sedin, Daniel Sedin, Roberto Luongo, Trevor Linden, Pavel Bure, Markus Naslund, Stan Smyl, Harold Snepsts, Mattias Ohlund, Tony Tanti, Thomas Gradin, Todd Bertuzzi, Brendan Morrison, Don Lever, Kirk McLean, Richard Brodeur, Cory Schneider, Dan Cloutier, Sami Salo, Kevin Bieksa, Alexander Edler and Alexander Mogilny.

So, which players make their “Franchise Four?”

4. The Defenseman – Harold Snepsts

Across 12 seasons with the Canucks, Snepsts was a two-time All-Star. Snepsts was a rugged, hard-working defenseman, who helped lead Vancouver to the Stanley Cup Final in 1981-82. In Canucks franchise history, Snepsts ranks sixth in games played (781) and fourth in penalty minutes (1,446).

3. The Goalie – Roberto Luongo

Across eight seasons with Vancouver, Luongo was a two-time All-Star. In 2010-11, Luongo earned the William M. Jennings Trophy. Luongo had three top four finishes in Vezina Trophy voting and was runner-up for the Hart Memorial Trophy in 2006-07. During the 2010-11 campaign, Luongo helped the Canucks reach the Stanley Cup Final, leading all postseason goaltenders with four shutouts. In 64 postseason contests, Luongo registered a .916 save percentage and a 2.54 goals-against average. In Canucks franchise history, Luongo ranks first in wins (252) and shutouts (38) and second in games played (448), save percentage (.919) and goals-against average (2.36).

2. The Wild Card – Daniel Sedin

As of this writing, Sedin is in his fifteenth season with the Canucks. A two-time All-Star, Sedin was a recipient of the Art Ross Trophy and the Ted Lindsay Award in 2010-11. The 2010-11 season also saw Sedin lead the league with 104 points and 18 power play tallies. Additionally, Sedin was the runner-up for the Hart Memorial Trophy in 2010-11. Helping lead Vancouver to the 2010-11 Stanley Cup Final, Sedin registered 20 points in 25 contests. Across 102 postseason games, Sedin has recorded 71 points. Sedin has one season of more than 40 markers and four campaigns of 30 tallies or more. In Canucks franchise history, Sedin ranks first in goals created (336.2), game-winning goals (75), power play goals (120), second in goals (341), assists (574), points (915), plus/minus (185), even strength goals (221) and third in games played (1,093).

1. The Forward – Henrik Sedin

As of this writing, Sedin is in his fifteenth season with Vancouver. A three-time All-Star, Sedin was a recipient of the Hart Memorial Trophy and the Art Ross Trophy, in 2009-10. The 2009-10 campaign saw Sedin top all skaters with 83 helpers and 112 points. Sedin led the league in assists for three consecutive seasons. During the 2010-11 season, Sedin helped Vancouver reach the Stanley Cup Final. When the Canucks made their run to the Final, Sedin topped all players with 19 helpers and recorded 22 points in 25 games. Across 105 playoff games, Sedin has registered 78 points. In Canucks franchise history, Sedin ranks first in points (946), assists (726), plus/minus (222), second in games played (1,124), goals created (312.2), seventh in goals (220), sixth in even strength goals (154), tenth in power play goals (59) and third in game-winning goals (34).