Docs Menu

Jonathan Toews

Born:April 29, 1988Draft:2006 Blackhawks, 3rd overall
Hometown:Winnipeg, MB, CANPosition:Centre
Known For:Captain SeriousShoots:Left
National Team:Canada

Jonathan Bryan Toews (born April 29, 1988) is a Canadian professional ice hockey centre and captain of the Chicago Blackhawks of the National Hockey League (NHL).

Nicknamed “Captain Serious”, Toews was selected by the Blackhawks with the third overall pick in the 2006 NHL Entry Draft. He joined the team in 2007–08 and was nominated for the Calder Memorial Trophy as NHL Rookie of the Year. The following season he was named team captain, becoming the second-youngest captain in NHL history (after Sidney Crosby) at the time. Toews won the Stanley Cup in 2010, along with the Conn Smythe Trophy for the most valuable player in the playoffs. After winning the Cup, Toews passed Peter Forsberg as the youngest player to join the Triple Gold Club.

Toews competes internationally for Team Canada and has won gold medals at the 2005 World U-17 Hockey Challenge, 2006 and 2007 World Junior Championships, 2007 World Championships, the 2010 Winter Olympics (a tournament in which he was named best forward) and the 2014 Winter Olympics. In 2017, he was named one of the 100 Greatest NHL Players.

Jonathan Toews Chicago Blackhawks
Jonathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks (Jess Starr/The Hockey Writers)

Jonathan Toews Statistics

Deeper Dive


  • World U-17 Hockey Challenge MVP — 2005 World U-17 Hockey Challenge — 2005
  • WCHA Rookie of the Week — twice in 2005–2006
  • NCAA West Regional MVP — 2006
  • World Junior All-Star Team — 2007
  • 5× NHL All-Star (2009, 2011, 2012,* 2015, 2016*, 2017) – *Did not attend due to injury/illness.
  • All-Star selection of the 2010 Olympic Hockey Tournament
  • 2010 Winter Olympics — Gold Medalist, Best Forward
  • 3x Stanley Cup winner
  • 2010 Conn Smythe Trophy winner
  • Second-youngest to win the Conn Smythe Trophy (22 years, 41 days; only Patrick Roy was younger); youngest captain to win the Conn Smythe Trophy.
  • Youngest person to gain entry into the Triple Gold Club (22 years, 41 days at time last component was achieved)
  • Named full captain of an NHL team after only 64 NHL games; fifth youngest full captain (Connor McDavid, Gabriel Landeskog, Sidney Crosby and Vincent Lecavalier being the others) in NHL history.
  • One of only eight players to win Olympic gold and the Stanley Cup in the same year.
  • 2013 Frank J. Selke Trophy winner
  • 2013 NHL Second All-Star Team
  • 2014 Winter Olympics — Gold Medalist
  • 2015 Mark Messier Leadership Award winner
  • 2015 ESPY Best NHL Player
  • 2016 World Cup of Hockey gold medal
  • Named on 100 Greatest NHL Players list for NHL’s Centennial Anniversary
  • NHL 11 cover athlete
  • NHL 16 cover athlete