Docs Menu

Chicago Blackhawks

Founded:1926GM:Kyle Davidson (Interim)
Owned By:Rocky WirtzCoach:Derek King (Interim)
Home Rink:United CenterCaptain:Jonathan Toews

The Chicago Blackhawks (spelled Black Hawks until 1986, and known colloquially as the Hawks) were founded in 1926, and are considered one of The Original Six clubs along with the Boston Bruins, Detroit Red Wings, Montreal Canadiens, New York Rangers and Toronto Maple Leafs. The Blackhawks have won six Stanley Cups, including three times between 2010 and 2015.

Deeper Dive

2021-22 Season Roster

Henrik BorgströmCalvin de HaanMarc-Andre Fleury
Ryan CarpenterErik GustafssonKevin Lankinen
Kirby DachCaleb Jones
Alex DeBrincatSeth Jones
Mackenzie EntwistleWyatt Kalynuk
Brandon HagelJake McCabe
Mike HardmanConnor Murphy
Tyler JohnsonRiley Stillman
Patrick Kane
Jujhar Khaira
Dominik Kubalík
Philipp Kurashev
Dylan Strome
Jonathan Toews

Stan Mikita: One of Chicago’s Finest

On August 7, 2018, the hockey world lost one of its greatest ambassadors and the city of Chicago lost one of its biggest sports legends. Stan Mikita passed away at age 78. His legacy will be remembered by Chicago Blackhawks fans for generations to come. Read more…

Stan Mikita

The Players

More Blackhawks History

The 2010 Stanley Cup: A Legacy Begins

June 10, 2020 marked the 10-year anniversary of the Chicago Blackhawks raising the Stanley Cup for the first time in 49 long years. Yes, June 9 of 2010 was a pretty special day in Chicago. Well, in Philadelphia to be exact. Patrick Kane scored the championship goal that nobody saw, and the rest is history. The Blackhawks went on to win the Cup again in 2013 and 2015, earning them the right to be called a modern-day dynasty. Read more…

Chicago Blackhawks Stanley Cup
The Chicago Blackhawks pose for a team photo after defeating the Philadelphia Flyers 4-3 in overtime and win the Stanley Cup in Game 6 of the 2010 NHL Stanley Cup Final, June 9, 2010. (Photo by Jim McIsaac/Getty Images)


  • Dick Irvin, 1926-1929
  • Duke Dukowski, 1929-1930
  • Ty Arbour, 1930-1931
  • Marvin Wentworth, 1931-1932
  • Helge Bostrom, 1932-1933
  • Charlie Gardiner, 1933-1934
  • Johnny Gottselilg, 1935-1940
  • Earl Seibert, 1940-1942
  • Doug Bentley, 1942-1944, 1949-1950
  • Clint Smith, 1944-1945
  • John Mariucci, 1945-1946, 1947-1948
  • Red Hamill, 1946-1947
  • Gaye Stewart, 1948-1949
  • Jack Stewart, 1950-1952
  • Bill Gadsby, 1952-1954
  • Gus Mortson, 1954-1957
  • Ed Litzenberger, 1958-1961
  • Pierre Pilote, 1961-1968
  • Pat Stapleton, 1969-1970
  • Pit Martin, 1975-1976
  • Pit Martin, Stan Mikita, Keith Magnuson, 1976-1977
  • Keith Magnuson, 1977-1979
  • Terry Ruskowski, 1979-1982
  • Darryl Sutter, 1982-1987
  • Bob Murray, 1985-86 (interim)
  • Denis Savard, 1988-1989
  • Dirk Graham, 1989-1995
  • Chris Chelios, 1995-1999
  • Doug Gilmour, 1999-2000
  • Tony Amonte, 2000-2002
  • Alexei Zhamnov, 2002-2004
  • Adrian Aucoin, 2005-2007
  • Martin Lapointe, 2006 (interim)
  • Jonathan Toews, 2008-present