Docs Menu

Boston Bruins

Founded:1924GM:Don Sweeney
Owned By:Jacobs FamilyCoach:Bruce Cassidy
Home Rink:TD GardenCaptain:Patrice Bergeron

The Boston Bruins are the oldest US based club in the National Hockey League, joining in 1924. They’ve won six Stanley Cups, ranking them tied for fourth. The are known as one of The Original Six NHL clubs.

Deeper Dive

2021-22 Season Roster

Patrice BergeronBrandon CarloJeremy Swayman
Anton BlidhConnor CliftonLinus Ullmark
Charlie CoyleDerek Forbort
Jake DeBruskMatt Grzelcyk
Nick FolignoCharlie McAvoy
Trent FredericJohn Moore
Taylor HallMike Reilly
Erik HaulaJakub Zboril
Karson Kuhlman
Curtis Lazar
Brad Marchand
Tomas Nosek
David Pastrnak
Craig Smith

Boston Bruins Jersey History

It’s almost enough to distract you from the fact that, for a solid decade, the Bruins wore what were, essentially, football jerseys. These kits featuring no logo and player numbers on both the front and back were joined, for 1940-41, by a special jersey featuring a collegiate wordmark on the front. After all, nothing says “professional” quite like something you’d find in a student union bookstore. Check out the entire history of the Bruins Jerseys…

The Players

Ray Raymond Bourque Colorado Avalanche Boston Bruins A long way to the stanley cup

More Bruins History

Bruins Top Goalies of All-Time

A Post Mortem on the 1964-65 Season

As bad as the Bruins were up front, the blue line corps was probably the team’s most glaring weakness.  But there were players who showed some promise.

Twenty-four-year-old Ted Green was the leader on the back end, and by the attention he garnered from the other five NHL teams who tried to acquire him, he looks to be a real force on defence once he matures. He led the Bruins defenders in scoring with eight goals, 27 assists for 35 points, fine totals for a blueliner on any team. Read More…

Derek Sanderson #17 of the Boston Bruins
BOSTON, MA – 1972: Derek Sanderson #17 of the Boston Bruins talks with goalies Eddie Johnston #1 and John Adams #31 before their NHL game circa 1972 at the Boston Garden in Boston, Massachusetts. (Photo by Melchior DiGiacomo/Getty Images)

Team captains

  • Sprague Cleghorn, 1925–1928
  • Lionel Hitchman, 1928–31
  • George Owen, 1931–1932
  • Dit Clapper, 1932–1938, 1939–1946
  • Cooney Weiland, 1938–1939
  • John Crawford, 1946–1950
  • Milt Schmidt, 1950–1954
  • Ed Sandford, 1954–1955
  • Fernie Flaman, 1955–1961
  • Don McKenney, 1961–1963
  • Leo Boivin, 1963–1966
  • Johnny Bucyk, 1966–1967, 1973–1977
  • Wayne Cashman, 1977–1983
  • Terry O’Reilly, 1983–1985
  • Ray Bourque and Rick Middleton, 1985–1988 (co-captains)
  • Ray Bourque, 1988–2000
  • Jason Allison, 2000–2001
  • Joe Thornton, 2002–2005
  • Zdeno Chara, 2006–2020
  • Patrice Bergeron, 2021–present