Docs Menu

Detroit Red Wings

Founded:1926GM:Steve Yzerman
Owned By:Ilitch HoldingsCoach:Derek Lalonde
Home Rink:Little Caesars ArenaCaptain:Dylan Larkin
AHL Affiliate:Grand Rapids GriffinsECHL Affiliate:Toledo Walleye

The Detroit Red Wings are a professional ice hockey team in the National Hockey League, based in Detroit, Michigan. Founded in 1926, the team was known as the Detroit Cougars until 1930. For the 1930–31 and 1931–32 seasons the team was called the Detroit Falcons, and in 1932 changed their name to the Red Wings. They’ve won 11 Stanley Cups, ranking them third behind the Montreal Canadiens (24) and Toronto Maple Leafs (13). They are known as one of The Original Six NHL clubs.

Deeper Dive

2021-22 Season Roster

Tyler BertuzziBen ChiarotAlex Nedeljkovic
Andrew CoppRobert HaggMagnus Hellberg
Adam ErneFilip HronekVille Husso
Robby FabbriGustav Lindstrom
Dominik KubalikOlli Maatta
Dylan LarkinJordan Oesterle
David PerronMoritz Seider
Michael Rasmussen
Lucas Raymond
Elmer Soderblom
Pius Suter
Jakub Vrana
Filip Zadina

Detroit Red Wings Jersey History

The Detroit Red Wings have one of the most iconic sets of jerseys in the National Hockey League – in all of sports, really. Constantly at or near the top of best-dressed lists, the Red Wings take to the ice in kits that really haven’t changed all that much since 1934 – and not at all since 1987, save for template updates to the NHL’s uniform system. Read more about the Red Wings jersey history…

Steve Yzerman Red Wings
Steve Yzerman (Photo by Bruce Bennett Studios/Getty Images)

The Players

More Red Wings History

Red Wings’ Underrated Star

The Detroit Red Wings organization has been home to some of the greatest players in NHL history. Players like Gordie Howe, Alex Delvecchio, Red Kelly, Ted Lindsay, Sid Abel, and Terry Sawchuk starred in the Original Six era. Steve Yzerman, Sergei Fedorov, Nicklas Lidstrom, Pavel Datsyuk, and Henrik Zetterberg then spearheaded the team during the 1990s and 2000s.

With such abundant talent sprinkled throughout the franchise’s existence, it is easy to forget about some of the underappreciated players that helped make the team successful. Marcel Pronovost, a hard-hitting defenseman who played over a decade with the team, is the perfect embodiment of an oft-forgotten Red Wings’ legend. Read more…

1956 Red Wings Dressing Room


  • Art Duncan, 1926–1927
  • Reg Noble, 1927–1930
  • George Hay, 1930–1931
  • Carson Cooper, 1931–1932
  • Larry Aurie, 1932–1933
  • Herbie Lewis, 1933–1934
  • Ebbie Goodfellow, 1934–1935, 1938–1941
  • Doug Young, 1935–1938
  • Ebbie Goodfellow & Syd Howe, 1941–1942
  • Sid Abel, 1942–1943, 1946–1952
  • Mud Bruneteau & Flash Hollett, 1943–1944
  • Flash Hollett, 1944–1945
  • Flash Hollett & Sid Abel, 1945–1946
  • Ted Lindsay, 1952–1956
  • Red Kelly, 1956–1958
  • Gordie Howe, 1958–1962
  • Alex Delvecchio, 1962–1973
  • Alex Delvecchio, Nick Libett, Red Berenson, Gary Bergman, Ted Harris, Mickey Redmond & Larry Johnston, 1973–1974
  • Marcel Dionne, 1974–1975
  • Danny Grant & Terry Harper, 1975–1976
  • Danny Grant & Dennis Polonich, 1976–1977
  • Dan Maloney & Dennis Hextall, 1977–1978
  • Dennis Hextall, Nick Libett & Paul Woods, 1978–1979
  • Dale McCourt, 1979–1980
  • Errol Thompson & Reed Larson, 1980–1981
  • Reed Larson, 1981–1982
  • Danny Gare, 1982–1986
  • Steve Yzerman, 1986–2006
  • Nicklas Lidstrom, 2006–2012
  • Henrik Zetterberg, 2013–2018
  • Dylan Larkin, 2021–present