Docs Menu

Toronto Maple Leafs

Founded:1917GM:Kyle Dubas
Owned By:Larry TanenbaumCoach:Sheldon Keefe
Home Rink:Scotiabank ArenaCaptain:Jonathan Tavares

The Toronto Maple Leafs were founded in 1917, and were one of The Original Six clubs. The club has won thirteen Stanley Cup championships, second only to the 24 championships of the Montreal Canadiens. The Maple Leafs history includes two recognized dynasties, from 1947 to 1951; and from 1962 to 1967. Winning their last championship in 1967, the Maple Leafs’ 52-season drought between championships is the longest current drought in the NHL.

Deeper Dive

Remembering Maple Leafs Glory

It’s been 53 years since the Toronto Maple Leafs and their fans have enjoyed the sights and sounds of a Stanley Cup win – dating all the way back to 1967. In fact, if the Maple Leafs don’t win a Cup by 2030, the team will officially be off of the Stanley Cup and just a team name on a ring resting in the Hockey Hall of Fame – a distant memory. Read more…

Dave Keon, Glenn Hall
Dave Keon shoots on Glenn Hall. (THW Archives)

The Players

More Toronto Maple Leafs History

Greatest Teams in History

Darryl Sittler’s 10-Point Game

Records are made to be broken. But, more than 40 years after Darryl Sittler set the record for most points scored in a single game, it has yet to be matched, much less broken. Sittler’s name literally covered the scoresheet as he piled up six goals and four assists in the Toronto Maple Leafs’ 11-4 rout over the Boston Bruins on Feb. 7, 1976, at Maple Leaf Gardens. Read more…

Darryl Sittler #27 of the Toronto Maple Leafs
MONTREAL – 1970’s: Darryl Sittler #27 of the Toronto Maple Leafs (Photo by Denis Brodeur/NHLI via Getty Images)


  • Ken Randall, 1917-1919
  • Frank Heffernan, 1919-1920
  • Reg Noble, 1920-1922
  • Jack Adams, 1922-1924
  • John Ross Roach, 1924-1925
  • Babe Dye, 1925-1926
  • Bert Corbeau, 1926-1927
  • Hap Day, 1927-1937
  • Charlie Conacher, 1937-1938
  • Red Horner, 1938-1940
  • Syl Apps, 1940-1943
  • Bob Davidson, 1943-1945
  • Syl Apps, 1945-1948
  • Ted Kennedy, 1948-1955
  • Sid Smith, 1955-1956
  • Jimmy Thomson, 1956-1957
  • Ted Kennedy, 1957
  • George Armstrong, 1958-1969
  • Dave Keon, 1969-1975
  • Darryl Sittler, 1975-1979, 1980-1982
  • Rick Vaive, 1982-1986
  • Rob Ramage, 1989-1991
  • Wendel Clark, 1991-1994
  • Doug Gilmour, 1994-1997
  • Mats Sundin, 1997-2008
  • Dion Phaneuf, 2010-2016
  • John Tavares, 2019-present