Docs Menu

Dion Phaneuf

Born:April 10, 1985Draft:2003 Flames, #9 Overall
Hometown:Edmonton, ABPosition:Defence
Known For:“Double Dion”ShootsLeft
National Team:Canada

Dion Phaneuf (born 10 April 1985) is a Canadian professional ice hockey player who is currently retired. He previously played for the Calgary Flames, Toronto Maple Leafs, Ottawa Senators, and Los Angeles Kings of the National Hockey League (NHL). He was drafted ninth overall in the 2003 NHL Entry Draft by Calgary and made his NHL debut in 2005 after a four-year junior career with the Red Deer Rebels of the Western Hockey League (WHL), in which he was twice named the Defenceman of the Year.

Phaneuf set a Flames record for most goals by a first-year defenceman and was named a finalist for the Calder Memorial Trophy as top rookie in 2005–06. Two years later, he was a finalist for the James Norris Memorial Trophy as top defenceman in the NHL. Since going pro, Phaneuf has been involved in two blockbuster trades. The first came in late 2009 when he was involved in a seven-player trade that saw him move from Calgary to Toronto. Six years later, he was the centrepiece of a nine-player trade that saw him sent to Ottawa. He was traded to Los Angeles nearing the trade deadline in February 2018.

Phaneuf is a three-time NHL All-Star. He has represented Canada internationally five times in his career, winning a silver medal and a gold medal at the World Junior Hockey Championship in 2004 and 2005, respectively, as well as a gold medal at the 2007 Men’s World Ice Hockey Championships.

Dion Phaneuf
Toronto Maple Leafs defenseman Dion Phaneuf – Photo By: Andy Martin Jr

Dion Phaneuf Statistics

Deeper Dive


  • Captain of the Maple Leafs (2011-2016)
  • First-team All-Star in 2008
  • Played in the All-Star Game three times (2007, 2008, 2012)
  • Named to the NHL All-Rookie Team in 2006
  • Won a silver medal with Team Canada at the 2004 World Junior Championship (WJC)
  • Won a gold medal with Team Canada at the 2005 WJC
  • Named to the 2004 and 2005 WJC All-Star Teams
  • Bill Hunter Trophy (2004, 2005)