Docs Menu

Ottawa Senators

Founded:1992GM:Steve Staios
Owned By:Michael Andlauer, Anna & Olivia MelnykCoach:Travis Green
Home Rink:Canadian Tire CentreCaptain:Brady Tkachuk
AHL Affiliate:Belleville SenatorsECHL Affiliate:Atlanta Gladiators

Founded and established by Ottawa real estate developer Bruce Firestone, the team is the second NHL franchise to use the Ottawa Senators name. The original Ottawa Senators, founded in 1883, had a famed history, winning 11 Stanley Cups, playing in the NHL from 1917 until 1934. On December 6, 1990, after a two-year public campaign by Firestone, the NHL awarded a new franchise, which began play in the 1992–93 season.

The Senators have made sixteen playoff appearances, won four division titles, and won the 2003 Presidents’ Trophy. They made an appearance in the 2007 Stanley Cup Finals, their only Cup Finals appearance to date.

Deeper Dive

2023-24 Season Roster

Drake BathersonErik BrannstromAnton Forsberg
Vladimir TarasenkoThomas ChabotJoonas Korpisalo
Zack MacEwenJakob Chychrun
Mark KastelicTravis Hamonic
Claude GirouxJacob Bernard-Docker
Mathieu JosephJake Sanderson
Parker KellyArtem Zub
Josh Norris
Shane Pinto
Tim Stutzle
Brady Tkachuk
Egor Sokolov
Dominik Kubalik

Jersey History

Prior to the 2020 draft, the team announced they were updating the unpopular 3-D centurion they’ve used since 1999 and returning to their original concept with the 2-D logo. The new logos and uniforms were received incredibly well, not only because they looked great, but because fans had grown accustomed to seeing sub-par redesign after sub-par redesign. A return to something that worked in the past was, surprisingly, something that didn’t happen all that often in Ottawa. Read more…

Wade Redden Zdeno Chara Jason Spezza Ottawa Senators
Wade Redden, Zdeno Chara and Jason Spezza of the Ottawa Senators (Photo by Phillip MacCallum/Getty Images)

The Players

More Senators History

Alfredsson’s Road to the Rafters

Daniel Alfredsson first set foot in the Ottawa Senators organization in 1995. At that time, not even “Alfie” himself thought that he would make his case in the NHL. But over two decades later, on December 29, 2016, the sixth-round draft pick from the 1994 NHL Entry Draft saw his very own Senators jersey raised to the rafters before the game against Detroit Red Wings at the Canadian Tire Centre. There, the number 11 will age but never fade, as he will forever be remembered for his services over an exceptional hockey career. Read more…

Daniel Alfredsson Senators
Daniel Alfredsson (Mark Goldman/Icon SMI)


General Managers

  • Mel Bridgman, 1991-1993
  • Randy Sexton, 1993-1995
  • Pierre Gauthier, 1995-1998
  • Rick Dudley, 1998-1999
  • Marshall Johnston, 1999-2002
  • John Muckler, 2002-2007
  • Bryan Murray, 2007-2016
  • Pierre Dorion, 2016-2023
  • Steve Staios, 2023-Present