Docs Menu

Calder Memorial Trophy

The Calder Memorial Trophy is an annual award given “to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition in the National Hockey League (NHL).” It is named after Frank Calder, the first president of the NHL. Serving as the NHL’s Rookie of the Year award, this version of the trophy has been awarded since its creation for the 1936–37 NHL season. The voting is conducted by members of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association at the conclusion of each regular season to determine the winner. The current holder of the trophy is Matty Beniers of the Seattle Kraken.

Calder Trophy
Calder Trophy (The Hockey Writers)

Which Team Has Won the Most Calder Trophies?

The trophy has been won the most times by rookies from the Toronto Maple Leafs, who have won it on ten occasions, with the most recent being Auston Matthews in 2017.

How is the Winner Chosen for the Calder Trophy?

The voting is conducted at the end of the regular season by members of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association, and each individual voter ranks their top five candidates on a 10–7–5–3–1 points system. Three finalists are named and the trophy is awarded at the NHL Awards ceremony after the playoffs

Some Unofficial Criterion Has Emerged Over the Years

To be eligible for the award, a player cannot have played more than 25 games in any single preceding season, nor in six or more games in each of any two preceding seasons, in any major professional league. However, in 1991, goaltender Ed Belfour won the Calder having previously appeared in 32 games with the Chicago Blackhawks over the 1988–89 and 1989–90 seasons. Belfour was eligible for the award because nine of those appearances came during the 1990 Stanley Cup playoffs, and the other 23 appearances were made during the 1988–89 season. The nine playoff games did not count towards the regular season eligibility requirements.

Deeper Dive

Oldest & Youngest Vezina Winners

Youngest to win the award: 18-years old, Nathan MacKinnon – 2013-14 (three and a half months younger than 2010-11 winner Jeff Skinner)

Oldest to win the award: 31-years old, Sergei Makarov – 1989-90 (played for the Soviet Red Army teams until joining the Calgary Flames in 1989)

Average age: 21.5-years old

…from NHL Awards Oldest & Youngest

1932–33Carl VossDetroit Red WingsC25
1933–34Russ BlincoMontreal MaroonsC25
1934–35Sweeney SchrinerNew York AmericansLW22
1935–36Mike KarakasChicago Black HawksG23
1936–37Syl AppsToronto Maple LeafsC21
1937–38Cully DahlstromChicago Black HawksC24
1938–39Frank BrimsekBoston BruinsG24
1939–40Kilby MacDonaldNew York RangersLW25
1940–41Johnny QuiltyMontreal CanadiensC19
1941–42Grant WarwickNew York RangersRW19
1942–43Gaye StewartToronto Maple LeafsRW19
1943–44Gus BodnarToronto Maple LeafsC20
1944–45Frank McCoolToronto Maple LeafsG25
1945–46Edgar LapradeNew York RangersC25
1946–47Howie MeekerToronto Maple LeafsRW21
1947–48Jim McFaddenDetroit Red WingsC27
1948–49Pentti LundNew York RangersRW22
1949–50Jack GelineauBoston BruinsG24
1950–51Terry SawchukDetroit Red WingsG20
1951–52Bernie GeoffrionMontreal CanadiensRW20
1952–53Gump WorsleyNew York RangersG23
1953–54Camille HenryNew York RangersC20
1954–55Ed LitzenbergerChicago Black HawksRW22
1955–56Glenn HallDetroit Red WingsG23
1956–57Larry ReganBoston BruinsRW26
1957–58Frank MahovlichToronto Maple LeafsLW19
1958–59Ralph BackstromMontreal CanadiensC20
1959–60Bill HayChicago Black HawksC23
1960–61Dave KeonToronto Maple LeafsC20
1961–62Bobby RousseauMontreal CanadiensRW21
1962–63Kent DouglasToronto Maple LeafsD26
1963–64Jacques LaperriereMontreal CanadiensD21
1964–65Roger CrozierDetroit Red WingsG22
1965–66Brit SelbyToronto Maple LeafsLW20
1966–67Bobby OrrBoston BruinsD18
1967–68Derek SandersonBoston BruinsC21
1968–69Danny GrantMinnesota North StarsRW23
1969–70Tony EspositoChicago Black HawksG26
1970–71Gilbert PerreaultBuffalo SabresC19
1971–72Ken DrydenMontreal CanadiensG24
1972–73Steve VickersNew York RangersLW21
1973–74Denis PotvinNew York IslandersD19
1974–75Eric VailAtlanta FlamesLW20
1975–76Bryan TrottierNew York IslandersC19
1976–77Willi PlettAtlanta FlamesRW21
1977–78Mike BossyNew York IslandersRW20
1978–79Bobby SmithMinnesota North StarsC20
1979–80Ray BourqueBoston BruinsD19
1980–81Peter StastnyQuebec NordiquesC24
1981–82Dale HawerchukWinnipeg JetsC18
1982–83Steve LarmerChicago Black HawksRW21
1983–84Tom BarrassoBuffalo SabresG18
1984–85Mario LemieuxPittsburgh PenguinsC19
1985–86Gary SuterCalgary FlamesD21
1986–87Luc RobitailleLos Angeles KingsLW20
1987–88Joe NieuwendykCalgary FlamesC21
1988–89Brian LeetchNew York RangersD20
1989–90Sergei MakarovCalgary FlamesRW31
1990–91Ed BelfourChicago BlackhawksG25
1991–92Pavel BureVancouver CanucksRW20
1992–93Teemu SelanneWinnipeg JetsRW22
1993–94Martin BrodeurNew Jersey DevilsG21
1994–95Peter ForsbergQuebec NordiquesC21
1995–96Daniel AlfredssonOttawa SenatorsRW22
1996–97Bryan BerardNew York IslandersD19
1997–98Sergei SamsonovBoston BruinsLW19
1998–99Chris DruryColorado AvalancheC22
1999–2000Scott GomezNew Jersey DevilsC19
2000–01Evgeni NabokovSan Jose SharksG25
2001–02Dany HeatleyAtlanta ThrashersRW20
2002–03Barret JackmanSt. Louis BluesD21
2003–04Andrew RaycroftBoston BruinsG23
2005–06Alexander OvechkinWashington CapitalsLW20
2006–07Evgeni MalkinPittsburgh PenguinsC20
2007–08Patrick KaneChicago BlackhawksRW19
2008–09Steve MasonColumbus Blue JacketsG21
2009–10Tyler MyersBuffalo SabresD20
2010–11Jeff SkinnerCarolina HurricanesC19
2011–12Gabriel LandeskogColorado AvalancheLW19
2012–13Jonathan HuberdeauFlorida PanthersLW19
2013–14Nathan MacKinnonColorado AvalancheC18
2014–15Aaron EkbladFlorida PanthersD19
2015–16Artemi PanarinChicago BlackhawksLW24
2016–17Auston MatthewsToronto Maple LeafsC19
2017–18Mathew BarzalNew York IslandersC21
2018–19Elias PetterssonVancouver CanucksC20
2019–20Cale MakarColorado AvalancheD21
2020–21Kirill KaprizovMinnesota WildLW/RW24
2021–22Moritz SeiderDetroit Red WingsD21
2022-23Matty BeniersSeattle KrakenC20
a Player’s age at the time of award win
b No winner because of the 2004–05 NHL lockout