Docs Menu

Los Angeles Kings

Founded:June 5, 1967GM:Rob Blake
Owned By:Philip Anschutz & Ed RoskiCoach:Jim Hiller (interim)
Home ArenaCaptain:Anze Kopitar
AHL Affiliate:Ontario ReignECHL Affiliate:None

The Los Angeles Kings was founded on June 5, 1967, after Jack Kent Cooke was awarded an NHL expansion franchise for Los Angeles on February 9, 1966, becoming one of the six teams that began play as part of the 1967 NHL expansion. In 1988, the Kings traded with the Oilers to get their captain Wayne Gretzky, leading to a successful phase of the franchise that raised hockey’s popularity in Los Angeles, and helped raise the sport’s profile in the American Sun Belt region. Gretzky, fellow Hall of Famer Luc Robitaille and defenseman Rob Blake led the Kings to the franchise’s sole division title in 1990–91, and the Kings’ first Stanley Cup Final appearance in 1993.

Deeper Dive

2023-24 Season Roster

Jaret Anderson-DolanMikey AndersonPheonix Copley
Viktor ArvidssonBrandt ClarkeCam Talbot
Quinton ByfieldDrew Doughty
Phillip DanaultAndreas Englund
Kevin FialaVladislav Gavrikov
Carl GrundstromMatt Roy
Arthur KaliyevJordan Spence
Adrian Kempe
Anze Kopitar
Trevor Lewis
Blake Lizotte
Trevor Moore

Jersey History

The Los Angeles Kings have had some of the most classic jerseys in NHL history. Many legends have worn the Kings jersey and all the history that goes with it. Since the team was founded in 1966, they have only had three main color schemes, that have changed little over the years. Even within these designs, some commonalities keep the Kings’ identity consistent. Read more…

Los Angeles Kings, Dustin Brown
Dustin Brown hoists the Stanley Cup. (Jayne Kamin-Oncea-US PRESSWIRE)

The Players

More Kings History

Gretzky’s Time With the Kings

Wayne Gretzky, the greatest player in hockey history. When people talk about him, they usually talk about his immense skill, his accomplishments, or how he led the Edmonton Oilers’ 80’s dynasty. His time with the LA Kings usually isn’t the first thing that comes to mind. Read more…

Wayne Gretzky, Los Angeles Kings
Wayne Gretzky of the Los Angeles Kings on December 4, 1994 at the Great Western Forum in Inglewood, California. (Photo By Andrew D. Bernstein/Getty Images)