Docs Menu

Buffalo Sabres

Founded:1970GM:Kevyn Adams
Owned By:Terry PegulaCoach:Don Granato
Home Rink:KeyBank CenterCaptain:

The Buffalo Sabres were established in 1970, along with the Vancouver Canucks, when the league expanded to 14 teams. The team has twice advanced to the Stanley Cup Finals, losing to the Philadelphia Flyers in 1975 and to the Dallas Stars in 1999. The Sabres, along with the Canucks, are the longest continuously running active NHL franchises to have never won the Stanley Cup.

Deeper Dive

2021-22 Season Roster

Rasmus AsplundJacob BrysonCraig Anderson
Anders BjorkWill ButcherMalcolm Subban
Drake CaggiulaRasmus DahlinDustin Tokarski
Dylan CozensRobert Hagg
Cody EakinHenri Jokiharju
Jack EichelColin Miller
Zemgus GirgensonsMark Pysyk
John Hayden
Peyton Krebs
Vinnie Hinostroza
Casey Mittelstadt
Kyle Okposo
Victor Olofsson
Arttu Ruotsalainen
Jeff Skinner
Tage Thompson
Alex Tuch

Jersey History

Entering the NHL in 1970-71, the Sabres debuted in royal blue trimmed with gold. A royal colour scheme truly befitting a team named after the curved, single-edged blades used by cavalry units of monarchical Early Modern Europe. Read more…

Dominik Hasek
Dominik Hasek, Buffalo Sabres (THW Archives)

The Players

More Sabres History

The French Connection

The ancient Greek philosopher Aristotle lived well before hockey ever existed, but his quote, “The whole is greater than the sum of its parts” certainly applies to the Buffalo Sabres’ French Connection. The famous Sabres line, comprised of Gilbert Perreault, Richard Martin and Rene Robert was a point-producing, highlight-making trio from 1972 until the fall of 1979. Each of the three French-Canadians from Quebec was talented individually, but when they were put together on the same line, magic ensued. The trio was unstoppable. Read more…

The French Connection


  • Floyd Smith, 1970-1971
  • Gerry Meehan, 1971-1974
  • Jim Schoenfeld, 1974-1977
  • Danny Gare, 1977-1981
  • Gilbert Perreault, 1981-1986
  • Lindy Ruff, 1986-1989
  • Mike Foligno, 1989-1990
  • Mike Ramsey, 1991-1992
  • Pat LaFontaine, 1992-1997
  • Alexander Mogilny, 1993-1994 (interim)
  • Michael Peca, 1997-2000
  • Stu Barnes, 2001-2003
  • Rotating Captains, 2003-2004
  • Daniel Briere and Chris Drury, 2005-2007
  • Rotating Captains, 2007-2008
  • Craig Rivet, 2008-2011
  • Jason Pominville, 2011-2013
  • Thomas Vanek, 2013
  • Steve Ott, 2013-2014
  • Brian Gionta, 2014-2017
  • Jack Eichel, 2018-2021