Docs Menu

St. Louis Blues

Founded:1967GM:Doug Armstrong
Owned By:Tom StillmanCoach:Craig Berube
Home Rink:Enterprise CenterCaptain:Vacant
AHL Affiliate:Springfield ThunderbirdsECHL Affiliate:None

The St. Louis Blues were founded in 1967 as one of the six teams from the 1967 NHL expansion and is named after the W. C. Handy song “Saint Louis Blues”. The Blues won their first Stanley Cup in 2019. Although perennial postseason contenders for most of their history, the franchise frequently struggled in the playoffs, including consecutive Stanley Cup Finals defeats at the end of their first three seasons. With the Blues’ victory in their fourth Stanley Cup Finals, 49 years after their last appearance and in their 52nd year of existence, they became the final active team from the 1967 expansion to win their first Stanley Cup.

Deeper Dive

2023-24 Season Roster

Oskar SundqvistRobert BortuzzoJordan Binnington
Sammy BlaisJustin FaulkJoel Hofer
Kasperi KapanenTorey Krug
Pavel BuchnevichNick Leddy
Jordan KyrouColton Parayko
Kevin HayesNick Leddy
Jake NeighboursCalle Rosen
Brandon SaadMarco Scandella
Brayden Schenn
Robert Thomas
Alexey Toropchenko
Jakub Vrana
Nikita Alexandrov
Tanner Dickinson

Making of the 2019 Champion

It was the culmination of the unlikeliest of stories, but the 2018-19 St. Louis Blues are Stanley Cup champions. The players arrived in a variety of ways: many were drafted by the Blues, others were traded for, and many were signed as free agents. Read more…

Alex Pietrangelo St. Louis Blues 2019 Stanley Cup
Alex Pietrangelo, St. Louis Blues, 2019 Stanley Cup (Photo by Bruce Bennett/Getty Images)

The Players

More Blues History

Jersey History

The St. Louis Blues have been in the National Hockey League for 52 seasons now, and over the years, they have come up with some very interesting jersey designs. The blue note has been a mainstay every year, but the way it is presented with some of these designs is odd. Read more…

Brett Hull
Brett Hull of the St. Louis Blues skates against the Montreal Canadiens in the 1990’s at the Montreal Forum in Montreal, Quebec, Canada. (Photo by Denis Brodeur/NHLI via Getty Images)


  • Al Arbour, 1967-70, 1971
  • Red Berenson, 1970-71, 1976, 1977-78
  • Jim Roberts, 1971-72
  • Barclay Plager, 1972-1976
  • Garry Unger, 1976-1977
  • Barry Gibbs, 1978-1979
  • Brian Sutter, 1979-1988
  • Bernie Federko, 1988-1989
  • Rick Meagher, 1989-1990
  • Scott Stevens, 1990-1991
  • Garth Butcher, 1991-1992
  • Brett Hull, 1992-1995
  • Shayne Corson, 1995-1996
  • Wayne Gretzky, 1996
  • Chris Pronger, 1997-2003
  • Al MacInnis, 2003-2004
  • Dallas Drake, 2005-2007
  • Eric Brewer, 2008-2011
  • David Backes, 2011-2016
  • Alex Pietrangelo, 2016-2020
  • Ryan O’Reilly, 2020-2023