Docs Menu

Ryan O’Reilly

Born:February 7, 1991Draft:2009, Avalanche, 33rd Overall
Hometown:Clinton, OntarioPosition:C
Known For:Conn Smythe WinnerShoots:Left
National Team:CanadaCurrent Team:Nashville Predators

Ryan O’Reilly (born February 7, 1991) is a professional ice hockey center playing for the Nashville Predators of the National Hockey League (NHL). He has previously played for the Colorado Avalanche, Buffalo Sabres, St. Louis Blues, and Toronto Maple Leafs.

O’Reilly was drafted 33rd overall in the 2009 NHL Entry Draft by the Colorado Avalanche, with whom he spent the first six seasons of his NHL career. Nicknamed “the Factor“, O’Reilly is frequently referred to as one of the NHL’s best two-way forwards, winning the Frank J. Selke Trophy in 2019. In 2015, O’Reilly was traded to the Buffalo Sabres, where he would play three seasons until being traded to the Blues in 2018. O’Reilly won the Stanley Cup with the Blues in 2019 over the Boston Bruins and was awarded the Conn Smythe Trophy as the most valuable player in the 2019 playoffs.

Ryan O'Reilly Toronto Maple Leafs
Ryan O’Reilly, Toronto Maple Leafs (Photo by Kevin Sousa/NHLI via Getty Images)

Ryan O’Reilly Statistics

Trade Tracker

DateTraded FromTraded WithTraded ToTraded For
June 26, 2015Colorado AvalancheJamie McGinnBuffalo SabresSecond-Round Pick
(Jeremy Roy)
J.T. Compher
Mikhail Grigorenko
Nikita Zadorov
July 1, 2018Buffalo SabresSt. Louis BluesFirst-Round Pick
(Ryan Johnson)
Second-Round Pick
(Ben Roger)
Patrik Berglund
Vladimir Sobotka
Tage Thompson
Feb. 17, 2023St. Louis BluesNoel AcciariToronto Maple LeafsMikhail Abramov
Adam Gaudette
2023 First-Round Pick
2023 Third-Round Pick
2024 Second-Round Pick

Deeper Dive


  • Captain of the St. Louis Blues (2020-2023)
  • U17 World Hockey Challenge Gold Medal — 2008
  • Hlinka Memorial Cup — 2008
  • IIHF World Championships Gold Medal — 2015, 2016
  • IIHF World Championships Silver Medal — 2017
  • World Hockey Challenge Gold Medal — 2016
  • CHL Top Prospects Game — 2009
  • NHL All-Star Game — 2016, 2019, 2020
  • Lady Byng Memorial Trophy — 2014
  • Frank J. Selke Trophy — 2019
  • Conn Smythe Trophy — 2019
  • Stanley Cup Champion — 2019