Docs Menu

Kevin Hayes

Born:May 8, 1992Draft:2010 Blackhawks, 24th Overall
Hometown:Boston, MA, USAPosition:Centre
Known For:Shoots:Left
National Team:USACurrent Team:St. Louis Blues

Kevin Patrick Hayes (born May 8, 1992) is an American professional ice hockey player for the St. Louis Blues of the National Hockey League (NHL).

Growing up in the Dorchester neighborhood of Boston, Hayes played hockey for the Noble and Greenough School before being drafted by the Chicago Blackhawks in the first round, 24th overall, of the 2010 NHL Entry Draft. Hayes chose to defer his professional career and followed his older brother Jimmy, playing four seasons with the Boston College Eagles. In his senior year, Hayes was selected for the All-Hockey East First Team and AHCA East First-Team All-American as a result of his play.

Following his tenure at Boston College, Hayes signed his first professional contract with the New York Rangers in 2014 instead of the Blackhawks. He played five seasons in New York before being traded to the Winnipeg Jets in exchange for Brendan Lemieux and two picks in the 2019 draft. After finishing the 2018–19 NHL season with the Jets, the Flyers acquired Hayes on a seven-year, $50 million contract in 2019. In the first year of his new contract, Hayes was the recipient of the teams’ Gene Hart Memorial Award as the player who displays the most “heart”.

Kevin Hayes Philadelphia Flyers
Kevin Hayes, Philadelphia Flyers (Amy Irvin / The Hockey Writers)

Kevin Hayes Statistics

Trade Tracker

DateTraded FromTraded ToTraded For
Feb. 5, 2019New York RangersWinnipeg Jets 2011-Present Primary Logo1st-Round Pick
4th-Round Pick
Brendan Lemieux
June 3, 2019Winnipeg Jets 2011-Present Primary LogoPhiladelphia Flyers5th-Round Pick
June 27, 2023Philadelphia FlyersSt. Louis Blues6th-Round Pick

Deeper Dive


  • 2010-11 NCAA (Hockey East) Champion
  • 2011-12 NCAA (Championship) Winner
  • 2011-12 NCAA (Hockey East) Champion
  • 2013-14 NCAA (East) First All-American Team
  • 2013-14 NCAA Top Collegiate Player (Hobey Baker Award) Finalist