Docs Menu

Dale Hawerchuk

Born:April 4, 1963Draft:1981 Jets #1 Overall
Hometown:Toronto, ONPosition:C
Known For:Hall of FameShoots:Left
National Team:Canada

Dale Hawerchuk (April 4, 1963 – August 18, 2020) was a Canadian professional ice hockey player and coach. Drafted first overall by the Winnipeg Jets in the 1981 NHL Entry Draft, Hawerchuk played in the National Hockey League (NHL) for 16 seasons as a member of the Jets, Buffalo Sabres, St. Louis Blues, and Philadelphia Flyers. He won the NHL’s Calder Memorial Trophy as the league’s Rookie of the Year in 1982 and was elected to the Hockey Hall of Fame in his second year of eligibility in 2001. Hawerchuk served as the head coach of the Barrie Colts of the Ontario Hockey League (OHL) from 2010 to 2019.

Dale Hawerchuk Winnipeg Jets
Dale Hawerchuk, Winnipeg Jets (Photo by Denis Brodeur/NHLI via Getty Images)

Dale Hawerchuk Statistics

Deeper Dive

Coaching History

  • OHL Barrie Colts (Head Coach) 2010-2019
  • OJHL Orangeville Crushers (Head Coach) 2007-2010
  • MWJHL Orangeville Crushers (Assistant Coach) 2005-2007

Front Office History

  • OHL Cornwall Royals (President) 1988-1989


  • Inducted into the Buffalo Sabres Hall of Fame in 2012
  • Inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 2001
  • Captain of the Winnipeg Jets 1.0 (1984-1990)
  • Canada Cup Champion (1988, 1992)
  • World Championship Silver Medal (1989)
  • Two-time World Championship Bronze Medalist (1982, 1986)
  • NHL Second All-Star Team (1985)
  • Calder Memorial Trophy (1982)
  • Memorial Cup All-Star Team (1980, 1981)
  • Two-time Memorial Cup Champion with the Cornwall Royals (1980, 1981)
  • Memorial Cup Most Valuable Player (Stafford Smythe Trophy) (1981)
  • CHL Player of the Year (1981)
  • CHL Top Scorer Award (1981)
  • QMJHL Best Professional Prospect (Mike Bossy Trophy) (1981)
  • QMJHL First All-Star Team (1981)
  • QMJHL Most Points (Jean Beliveau Trophy) (1981)
  • QMJHL Most Valuable Player (Michel Brière Trophy) (1981)
  • CHL Memorial Cup Most Sportsmanlike Player (1980)
  • QMJHL Playoffs MVP (Guy Lafleur Trophy) (1980)