Docs Menu

San Jose Sharks

Founded:1991GM:Mike Grier
Owned By:Hasso PlattnerCoach:Vacant
Home Rink:SAP CenterCaptain:Logan Couture
AHL Affiliate:San Jose BarracudaECHL Affiliate:Wichita Thunder

The Sharks were founded in 1991 and were the first NHL franchise based in the San Francisco Bay Area since the California Golden Seals relocated to Cleveland in 1976. The Sharks have advanced to the Stanley Cup Finals once, losing to the Pittsburgh Penguins in 2016. They have won the Presidents’ Trophy once, as the team with the league’s best regular season record in the 2008–09 season. They have also won six division titles as a member of the Pacific Division since 1993.

Deeper Dive

2023-24 Season Roster

Alexander BarabanovMatt BenningKaapo Kahkonen
Logan CoutureMario FerraroMackenzie Blackwood
Mikael GranlundNikolai Knyzhov
Mike HoffmanKyle Burroughs
Tomas HertlJacob MacDonald
Anthony DuclairRadim Simek
Filip ZadinaMarc-Edouard Vlasic
Kevin LabancJan Rutta
Oskar LindblomCalen Addison
William Eklund
Nico Sturm
Givani Smith
Fabian Zetterlund
Luke Kunin
Ryan Carpenter

Significance of September 6

Although teams are not playing regular-season games on this day, Sept. 6 is one of the most significant dates in San Jose Sharks history. It not only was the day that their name was decided, but it was the inaugural practice for the fresh team and brought San Jose arguably their most important trade at that time. Read more…

San Jose Sharks Patrick Marleau
San Jose Sharks Patrick Marleau (THE CANADIAN PRESS/AP, Jeff Chiu)

The Players

More Sharks History

Joe Thornton’s Best Moments

San Jose Sharks’ center Joe Thornton, will be in the Hockey Hall of Fame whenever he decides to hang up his skates. A career like Thornton’s has dozens of top moments, but there are five that stand above the rest. Read more…

San Jose Sharks Joe Thornton
San Jose Sharks center Joe Thornton (AP Photo/Nick Wass, File)