Docs Menu

Anaheim Ducks

Founded:1993GM:Bob Murray
Owned By:Henry & Susan SamueliCoach:Dallas Eakins
Home Rink:Honda CenterCaptain:Ryan Getzlaf

The club was founded in 1993 by The Walt Disney Company as the Mighty Ducks of Anaheim, a name based on the 1992 film The Mighty Ducks. Disney sold the franchise in 2005 to Henry and Susan Samueli, who along with then-general manager Brian Burke, changed the name of the team to the Anaheim Ducks before the 2006–07 season. They won their lone Stanley Cup in 2007.

Deeper Dive

2021-22 Season Roster

Max ComtoisJamie DrysdaleJohn Gibson
Nicolas DeslauriersCam FowlerAnthony Stolarz
Ryan GetzlafHampus Lindholm
Derek GrantJosh Mahura
Benoit-Olivier GroulxJosh Manson
Adam HenriqueGreg Pateryn
Max JonesKevin Shattenkirk
Isac Lundestrom
Mason McTavish
Sonny Milano
Rickard Rakell
Jakob Silfverberg
Sam Steel
Troy Terry
Trevor Zegras

Jersey History

The Anaheim Ducks have, by and large, been blessed when it comes to National Hockey League expansion teams. Stars like Paul Kariya and Teemu Selanne graced their roster – then composed of Mighty Ducks – early on in their existence. They made two Stanley Cup finals in four seasons, taking the New Jersey Devils to seven games in 2003 before winning it all in 2007, at the expense of the Ottawa Senators. Read more…

Teemu Selanne Mighty Ducks of Anaheim
Teemu Selanne, Mighty Ducks of Anaheim, Mar. 28, 2006 (Photo by Garrett Ellwood/NHLImages)

The Players

More Ducks History

Paul Kariya: The Original Mighty Duck

Paul Kariya was a young phenom, the face of a young franchise. He was given lofty expectations and broke into the league around the same time as two other comparable Hall of Fame players, Pavel Bure and Eric Lindros. He was a solid all-around player and a statesman for the sport of hockey. Read more…

Paul Kariya
Paul Kariya, Anaheim Mighty Ducks (Photo by: Brian Bahr/Getty Images/NHLI)