Docs Menu

Bruce Boudreau

Born:January 9, 1955Draft:1975 Maple Leafs #42 Overall
Hometown:Toronto, ONPosition:Center
Known For:Jack Adams AwardShoots:Left
National Team:Canada

Bruce Allan Boudreau (born January 9, 1955) is a Canadian former professional ice hockey player and coach. He is the former head coach of the Washington Capitals, Anaheim Ducks, Minnesota Wild, and Vancouver Canucks. As a player, Boudreau played professionally for 20 seasons, logging 141 games in the NHL and 30 games in the World Hockey Association (WHA). He played for the Toronto Maple Leafs and the Chicago Black Hawks of the NHL and the Minnesota Fighting Saints of the WHA. Boudreau won the Jack Adams Award for the NHL’s most outstanding head coach in the 2007–08 NHL season during his tenure with the Capitals. Before becoming coach of the Canucks, he was an analyst on the NHL Network and on NBC Sports Washington. He is the owner of the United States Premier Hockey League’s Minnesota Blue Ox and its newest expansion team in Hershey, PA, the Cubs.

Years as an NHL player: 1976-1986
Years as an NHL coach: 2007-2020; 2021-2023

Bruce Boudreau Vancouver Canucks head coach
Bruce Boudreau (Photo by Jeff Vinnick/NHLI via Getty Images)

Bruce Boudreau Statistics

Deeper Dive

Coaching History

  • CoHL Muskegon Fury (Head Coach) 1992-1993
  • IHL Fort Wayne Komets (Head Coach) 1993-1995
  • IHL San Francisco Spiders (Asst. Coach) 1995-1996
  • ECHL Mississippi Sea Wolves (Head Coach) 1996-1999
  • AHL Lowell Lock Monsters (Head Coach) 1999-2001
  • AHL Manchester Monarchs (Head Coach) 2001-2005
  • AHL Hershey Bears (Head Coach) 2005-2008
  • NHL Washington Capitals (Head Coach) 2008-2012
  • NHL Anaheim Ducks (Head Coach) 2012-2016
  • NHL Minnesota Wild (Head Coach) 2016-2020
  • NHL Vancouver Canucks (Head Coach) 2021-2023


As a Player

  • AHL Hall of Fame (2009)
  • AHL Calder Cup Champion (1992)
  • AHL Sportsmanship (Fred T. Hunt Trophy) (1988)
  • AHL Most Points (John B. Sollenberger Trophy) (1988)
  • AHL First All-Star Team (1988)
  • OMJHL Most Points (Eddie Powers Trophy) (1975)
  • MetJBHL Champion (1972)

As a Coach

  • NHL All-Star Game (Head Coach) (2017)
  • ECHL Alumnus of the Month (May, 2008)
  • Jack Adams Award (Capitals – 2008)
  • 2x AHL All-Star Game (2005, 2007)
  • AHL Calder Cup Champion (2006)
  • ECHL Kelly Cup Champion (1999)
  • IHL Coach of the Year (Commissioner’s Trophy) (1994)