Docs Menu

Jack Adams Award

The Jack Adams Award is awarded annually to the National Hockey League (NHL) coach “adjudged to have contributed the most to his team’s success.” The league’s Coach of the Year award has been presented 40 times to 34 coaches. The winner is selected by a poll of the National Hockey League Broadcasters Association at the end of the regular season. Five coaches have won the award twice, while Pat Burns has won three times, the most of any coach. The award is named in honour of Jack Adams, Hall of Fame player for the Toronto Arenas/St. Patricks, Vancouver Millionaires and original Ottawa Senators, and long-time Coach and General Manager of the Detroit Red Wings. It was first awarded at the conclusion of the 1973–74 regular season.

Gerard Gallant of the Vegas Golden Knights
Head Coach Gerard Gallant of the Vegas Golden Knights poses for a portrait with the Clarence S. Campbell Bowl (L) and the Jack Adams Award at the 2018 NHL Awards at the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino on June 20, 2018 in Las Vegas, Nevada. (Photo by Brian Babineau/NHLI via Getty Images)

Quick Hits

Jack Adams, the Man and the Award

Jack Adams Award Winners

SeasonWinnerTeamWin #
1973–74Fred Shero[a]Philadelphia Flyers1
1974–75Bob PulfordLos Angeles Kings1
1975–76Don CherryBoston Bruins1
1976–77Scotty Bowman[a][b]Montreal Canadiens1
1977-78Bobby KrommDetroit Red Wings1
1978–79Al Arbour[b]New York Islanders1
1979–80Pat Quinn[b][c]Philadelphia Flyers1
1980–81Red BerensonSt. Louis Blues1
1981–82Tom WattWinnipeg Jets1
1982–83Orval TessierChicago Black Hawks1
1983–84Bryan MurrayWashington Capitals1
1984–85Mike Keenan[b][c]Philadelphia Flyers1
1985–86Glen Sather[b]Edmonton Oilers1
1986–87Jacques DemersDetroit Red Wings1
1987–88Jacques DemersDetroit Red Wings2
1988–89Pat Burns[c]Montreal Canadiens1
1989–90Bob MurdochWinnipeg Jets1
1990–91Brian SutterSt. Louis Blues1
1991–92Pat QuinnVancouver Canucks2
1992–93Pat BurnsToronto Maple Leafs2
1993–94Jacques LemaireNew Jersey Devils1
1994–95[d]Marc CrawfordQuebec Nordiques1
1995–96Scotty Bowman[b]Detroit Red Wings2
1996–97Ted NolanBuffalo Sabres1
1997–98Pat BurnsBoston Bruins3
1998–99Jacques MartinOttawa Senators1
1999–2000Joel Quenneville[b]St. Louis Blues1
2000–01Bill Barber[e]Philadelphia Flyers1
2001–02Bobby FrancisPhoenix Coyotes1
2002–03Jacques LemaireMinnesota Wild2
2003–04John Tortorella[a]Tampa Bay Lightning1
2005–06Lindy RuffBuffalo Sabres1
2006–07Alain VigneaultVancouver Canucks1
2007–08Bruce Boudreau[e]Washington Capitals1
2008–09Claude JulienBoston Bruins1
2009–10Dave TippettPhoenix Coyotes1
2010–11Dan BylsmaPittsburgh Penguins1
2011–12Ken Hitchcock[e]St. Louis Blues1
2012–13[g]Paul MacLeanOttawa Senators1
2013–14Patrick RoyColorado Avalanche1
2014–15Bob HartleyCalgary Flames1
2015–16Barry Trotz[b]Washington Capitals1
2016–17John TortorellaColumbus Blue Jackets2
2017–18Gerard Gallant[c]Vegas Golden Knights1
2018–19Barry TrotzNew York Islanders2
2019–20[h]Bruce Cassidy[b]Boston Bruins1
2020-21Rod Brind’AmourCarolina Hurricanes1
2021-22Darryl SutterCalgary Flames1
2022-23Jim MontgomeryBoston Bruins1

a. Coaches whose teams won the Stanley Cup
b. Teams who had best overall record in regular season (Presidents’ Trophy awarded to team with best overall record since 1985–86)
c. Coaches whose teams lost the Stanley Cup final round
d. Season shortened by the 1994–95 NHL lockout
e. Coaches whose teams replaced the coach that started the season
f. Not awarded due to the lock-out
g. Season shortened by the 2012–13 NHL lockout
h. Regular season shortened by the COVID-19 pandemic

Some History

Jacques Demers is the only coach to win the award in consecutive seasons. Five coaches have won the award with two teams: Jacques Lemaire, Pat Quinn, Scotty Bowman, Barry Trotz, and John Tortorella have won the award twice, while Pat Burns is the only coach to win three times.

The franchises with the most Jack Adams Award winners are the Philadelphia Flyers, Detroit Red Wings, Boston Bruins and Arizona Coyotes with four winners each, although the Coyotes had two winners in Winnipeg before they moved to Arizona.

Bill Barber, Bruce Boudreau and Ken Hitchcock are the only coaches to win the award after replacing the head coach who started the season. Barber took over for Craig Ramsay during the Flyers‘ 2000–01 season, Boudreau replaced Glen Hanlon a month into the Capitals‘ 2007–08 season while Hitchcock replaced Davis Payne a month into the Blues‘ 2011–12 season.

The closest vote occurred in 2006, when the winner Lindy Ruff edged out Peter Laviolette by a single point

Lindy Ruff New York Rangers
Jack Adams Award winner Lindy Ruff with the New York Rangers (Amy Irvin / The Hockey Writers)