Docs Menu

Edmonton Oilers

Founded:1972GM:Ken Holland
Owned By:Daryl KatzCoach:Jay Woodcroft
Home Rink:Rogers PlaceCaptain:Connor McDavid

The Oilers were officially founded in 1971 by W. D. “Wild Bill” Hunter and Dr. Chuck Allard. The team played its first season in 1972, as one of the twelve founding franchises of the major professional World Hockey Association (WHA). They subsequently joined the NHL in 1979 as one of four franchises absorbed through the NHL merger with the WHA.

After joining the NHL, the Oilers went on to win the Stanley Cup on five occasions: 1983–84, 1984–85, 1986–87, 1987–88, and 1989–90. Along with the Pittsburgh Penguins, they are tied for the most championships won by any team since the NHL-WHA merger and also the most won by any team that joined the league in or after 1967. Among all NHL teams, only the Montreal Canadiens have won the Stanley Cup more times since the League’s 1967 expansion. The Oilers are one of two NHL franchises based in Alberta, the other being the Calgary Flames. Their close proximity to each other has led to a fierce rivalry known as the “Battle of Alberta”.

Deeper Dive

2021-22 Season Roster

Tyler BensonTyson BarrieMikko Koskinen
Derick BrassardEvan BouchardStuart Skinner
Leon DraisaitlCody CeciMike Smith
Warren FoegeleDuncan Keith
Zach HymanSlater Koekkoek
Evander KaneBrett Kulak
Zack KassianDarnell Nurse
Connor McDavidKris Russell
Ryan McLeod
Ryan Nugent-Hopkins
Brendan Perlini
Jesse Puljujarvi
Derek Ryan
Colton Sceviour
Devin Shore
Kyle Turris
Kailer Yamamoto

Jersey History

The National Hockey League version of the Edmonton Oilers has always been an all-or-nothing team. For their first 13 seasons – starting in 1979-80, the Oilers made the playoffs every single year, winning five Stanley Cups and only losing in the first round on three occasions. Star players were sprinkled throughout the Edmonton roster, from goaltenders Grant Fuhr and Andy Moog, to defenseman Paul Coffey, to forwards Glenn Anderson, Jari Kurri, Mark Messier and the Great One himself, Wayne Gretzky. Read more…

Mark Messier of the Edmonton Oilers
Canadian hockey player Mark Messier of the Edmonton Oilers (Photo by Bruce Bennett Studios/Getty Images)

The Players

More Oilers History

Gretzky’s Unbreakable Records

Wayne Gretzky spent his entire professional hockey career (20 seasons in the NHL and one in the WHA) rewriting the record books. When ‘The Great One’ retired following the 1998-99 season, he held 61 NHL records. Gretzky’s stats have set the benchmark so high that it appears that many — if not all — of his records appear to be unbreakable. Here is a countdown of ten Gretzky records that will not be broken. Read more…

gretzky unbreakable records
Wayne Gretzky and his 50 goals in 50 games puck (THW Archives)


  • Al Hamilton, 1972-1976
  • Glen Sather, 1976-1977
  • Paul Shmyr, 1977-1979
  • Ron Chipperfield, 1979-1980
  • Blair MacDonald, 1980-1981
  • Lee Fogolin, 1981-1983
  • Wayne Gretzky, 1983-1988
  • Mark Messier, 1988-1991
  • Kevin Lowe, 1991-1992
  • Craig MacTavish, 1992-1994
  • Shayne Corson, 1995
  • Kelly Buchberger, 1995-1999
  • Doug Weight, 1999-2001
  • Jason Smith, 2001-2007
  • Ethan Moreau, 2007-2010
  • Shawn Horcoff, 2010-2013
  • Andrew Ference, 2013-2015
  • Ryan Smyth, 2014 (one game)
  • Connor McDavid, 2016-present