Docs Menu

Arizona Coyotes

Founded:December 27, 1971GM:Bill Armstrong
Owned By:Alex MerueloCoach:André Tourigny
Home Rink:Gila River ArenaCaptain:Vacant

Originally founded on December 27, 1971 as the Winnipeg Jets of the World Hockey Association (WHA), they were one of four franchises absorbed into the National Hockey League after the WHA had ceased operations and then granted membership on June 22, 1979. The Jets moved to Phoenix on July 1, 1996, and were re-named as the Phoenix Coyotes. The franchise finalized a second name change on June 27, 2014, to become the Arizona Coyotes.

Deeper Dive

2021-22 Season Roster

Jay BeagleJakob ChychrunCarter Hutton
Travis BoydShayne GostisbehereKarel Vejmelka
Lawson CrouseIlya Lyubushkin
Ryan DzingelDysin Mayo
Loui ErikssonVictor Soderstrom
Christian FischerAnton Stralman
Dmitrij JaskinConor Timmins
Clayton Keller
Phil Kessel
Andrew Ladd
Johan Larsson
Liam O’Brien
Antoine Roussel
Nick Schmaltz

Jersey History

The Arizona Coyotes, at the time long overdue for a uniform change, rolled out their current uniforms in time for the 2015-16 National Hockey League season. However, the new rendition leaves much to be desired. Read more…

Martin Hanzal
Martin Hanzal of the Arizona Coyotes (photo: Amy Irvin)

The Players

More Coyotes History

Shane Doan: Captain Coyote

June 19, 2017, will go down in Coyotes history as being a controversial day. The Arizona Coyotes made the decision to not offer Shane Doan the 21-year veteran a contract for the upcoming season. The Coyotes have never played a season without Doan who has the been the cornerstone of the organization. In a year filled with plenty of firsts in the NHL with a new team in Las Vegas and Adidas jerseys, the Coyotes will have a new captain in Oliver Ekman-Larsson. Read more…

Arizona Coyotes Shane Doan
Arizona Coyotes right wing Shane Doan (AP Photo/Rick Scuteri, File)


  • Keith Tkachuk, 1996-2001
  • Teppo Numminen, 2001-2003
  • Shane Doan, 2003-2017
  • Oliver Ekman-Larsson, 2018-2021