Docs Menu

New York Islanders

Founded:1972GM:Lou Lamoriello
Owned By:Jon Ledecky & Scott D. MalkinCoach:Lane Lambert
Home Rink:UBS ArenaCaptain:Anders Lee
AHL Affiliate:Bridgeport IslandersECHL Affiliate:Worcester Railers

The New York Islanders were founded in 1972 as part of the NHL’s maneuvers to keep a team from rival league World Hockey Association (WHA) out of the newly-built Nassau Veterans Memorial Coliseum in suburban Uniondale, New York. The Islanders have won four Stanley Cups, all consecutively between 1979-83. The Islanders are one of three NHL franchises in the New York metro area, along with the New Jersey Devils and New York Rangers.

Deeper Dive

2023-24 Season Roster

Mathew Barzal xSebastian AhoIlya Sorokin
Bo Horvat Noah DobsonSemyon Varlamov
Casey Cizikas Scott Mayfield
Cal Clutterbuck Adam Pelech
Pierre Engvall Ryan Pulock
Julien Gauthier Alexander Romanov
Ross Johnston Samuel Bolduc
Anders Lee
Matt Martin
Brock Nelson
Jean-Gabriel Pageau
Kyle Palmieri
Hudson Fasching
Oliver Wahlstrom
Karson Kuhlman

Jersey History

For the most part, when you think of the New York Islanders sweaters, you really only think of the blue home and white road sweaters that have been around since the 1972-73 season (minus the names on the back). Since then, not much has changed on those uniforms, and honestly, that’s a wonderful thing. The home and road uniforms are classic looking clean, traditional sweaters, and there is no need to change anything about them. Read more…

Islanders Dynasty
New York Islanders Bryan Trottier and Mike Bossy, Stanley Cup (THW Archives)

The Players

More New York Islanders History

Bill Torrey: ‘The Architect’

After finishing with the worst record in the league, New York was awarded the first overall pick of the 1973 amateur draft. Despite Montreal Canadiens’ general manager Sam Pollack’s attempts to pry the pick away from Torrey, he held onto the selection and took future Hall of Fame defenseman Denis Potvin. They also used the 33rd pick to select defenseman Dave Lewis. Read more…

Bill Torrey
Bill Torrey was the franchise’s original president, the man most responsible for putting together the first Florida Panthers team. Bill Torrey is honored with a Tribute Night as the Florida Panthers play host to the New York Islanders at the BankAtlantic Center on October 23, 2010 in Sunrise, Florida. (Photo by Eliot J. Schechter/NHLI via Getty Images)


  • Ed Westfall, 1972-1977
  • Clark Gilles, 1977-1979
  • Denis Potin, 1979-1987
  • Brent Sutter, 1987-1991
  • Patrick Flatley, 1991-1996
  • Bryan McCabe, 1997-1998
  • Trevor Linden, 1998-1999
  • Kenny Jonsson, 1999-2000
  • Michael Peca, 2001-2004
  • Alexei Yashin, 2005-2007
  • Bill Guerin, 2007-2009
  • Doug Weight, 2009-2011
  • Mark Streit, 2011-2013
  • John Tavares, 2013-2018
  • Anders Lee, 2018-present