Docs Menu

Lane Lambert

Born:November 18, 1964Draft:1983 Red Wings #25 Overall
Hometown:Melfort, SKPosition:Right Wing
Known For:Shoots:Right
National Team:CanadaCurrent Team:New York Islanders (head coach)

Lane Douglas Lambert (born November 18, 1964) is a Canadian professional ice hockey coach and former player. He is the head coach for the New York Islanders of the National Hockey League (NHL). Drafted 25th overall in the second round of the 1983 NHL Entry Draft, Lambert played 283 games in the NHL for the Quebec Nordiques, New York Rangers, and Detroit Red Wings.

Lambert was the head coach of the Milwaukee Admirals of the American Hockey League (AHL) until he was promoted as an assistant coach for the Nashville Predators on June 9, 2011. He was also an assistant coach with the Washington Capitals during their 2018 Stanley Cup run, however, he signed with the New York Islanders after head coach Barry Trotz signed with the team in 2018.

After Trotz’s firing following the 2021–22 season, Lambert was promoted to head coach of the Islanders.

Years as an NHL player: 1983-1989
Years as an NHL coach: 2011-present

Lane Lambert Jim Hiller New York Islanders
Jim Hiller (left) and Lane Lambert (right), New York Islanders (Amy Irvin / The Hockey Writers)

Lane Lambert Statistics

Deeper Dive

Staff History

  • WHL Moose Jaw Warriors (Asst. Coach) 2002-2004
  • WHL Prince George Cougars (Head Coach) 2004-2005
  • AHL Bridgeport Soundtigers (Asst. Coach) 2005-2006
  • AHL Milwaukee Admirals (Asst. Coach) 2006-2007
  • AHL Milwaukee Admirals (Head Coach) 2007-2011
  • NHL Nashville Predators (Asst. Coach) 2011-2014
  • NHL Washington Capitals (Asst. Coach) 2014-2018
  • NHL New York Islanders (Asst. Coach) 2018-2022
  • NHL New York Islanders (Head Coach) 2022-present


  • As a Player
    • IHL Turner Cup Champion (1999)
    • NLB Most Goals (1994, 1996)
    • NLB Most Points (1996)
    • NLB Champion (Ajoie) (1992)
    • NLB Most Penalized Player (1992)
    • NLB To NLA Promotion (Ajoie) (1992)
    • Spengler Cup Most Points (1990)
    • AHL Calder Cup Champion (1986)
    • WHL Second All-Star Team (1983)
  • As a Coach