Champions Hockey League Announces 2016-17 Schedule

The third season of the re-born Champions Hockey League is ready to go. The league has announced the full list of teams that have been granted a berth into the league — referred to as a license — and the full schedule for the group stage.

48 teams from 13 European leagues will compete to be CHL champions. Of those teams, 40 will be making an effort to be the first non-SHL team to win the tournament following Frolunda’s win this year and Lulea’s the year before.

The 2016-17 Champions League will kick off with four games on August 16, with the group stage lasting until September 11. August 17 will mark the first time that a CHL game is played in Poland, followed by Frolunda’s first game of their title defense on the 18th.

It’s the second straight year that the CHL will contain 48 teams. They’ll be divided into 16 groups for the group stage. Like last year, two of each three-team grouping will advance to the knock-out stage. Below is the full list of teams that have qualified for the coming year.

Finnish Liiga
IFK Helsinki
JYP Jyväskylä
KalPa Kuopio
Kärpät Oulu
Tappara Tampere
TPS Turku
Luuko Rauma
SaiPa Lappeenranta

Djugarden Stockholm
Färjestad Karlstad
Frölunda Gothenburg
HV71 Jönköping
Linköping HC
Lulea Hockey
Skelleftea AIK
Växjö Lakers

Alder Mannheim
Eisbären Berlin
ERC Ingolstadt
Krefeld Pinguine
Red Bull Munich
Grizzlys Wolfsburg

Czech ExtraLiga
Bili Tygri Liberec
Dynamo Pardubice
Sparta Prague
Vitkovice Ostrava
HC Pilsen
BK Mlada Boleslav

Vienna Capitals
Black Wings Linz
Red Bull Salzburg
Orli Znojmo

EV Zug
SC Bern
ZSC Lions Zurich
HC Davos
HC Lugano

GET Ligaen
Stavanger Oilers
Lørenskog IK

SVK Extraliga
HC Kosice
HK Nitra

Ligue Magnus
Gap Rapace
Rouen Dragons

Metal Ligaen
Esbjerg Energy

Comarch Cracovia

Belarus Extraleague
Yunost Minsk

Sheffield Steelers