DI Women’s All-Americans Named

The 2016 CCM Hockey Division I Women’s Ice Hockey All-Americans were named Thursday evening, in advance of Friday’s Frozen Four semifinals in Durham, New Hampshire.

Boston College led the charge with a pair of players on the First Team, including sophomore Megan Keller, the only sophomore to be named to the team.

Between the First and Second Teams, Boston College, the University of Minnesota and the University of Wisconsin tied for the most players with three each. Princeton, Northeastern and the University of Connecticut all had one representative.

The group of six featured on the First Team features all three Patty Kazmaier Award finalists, recognizing the best player in women’s collegiate hockey annually. The finalists include Wisconsin’s Ann-Renee Desbiens, Boston College’s Alex Carpenter and Northeastern record-setter Kendall Coyne.

Here’s the full first and second team All-Americans for Division I Women’s Hockey:

2016 First Team All-Americans
Ann-Renee Desbiens, JR, University of Wisconsin
Megan Keller, SO, Boston College
Kelsey Koelzer, JR, Princeton University
Hannah Brandt, SR, University of Minnesota
Alex Carpenter, JR, Boston College
Kendall Coyne, SR, Northeastern University

2016 Second Team All-Americans
Elaine Chuli, SR, University of Connecticut
Courtney Burke, SR, University of Wisconsin
Lee Stecklein, JR, University of Minnesota
Dani Cameranesi, SO, University of Minnesota
Annie Pankowski, SO, University of Wisconsin
Haley Skarupa, SR, Boston College

Brandt has been named a First Team All-American three times and is the fourth player in Gopher history to earn the honor three teams. Brandt is the only player one the list this year to have been named three times. Four others have been named an All-American once.

Rookie of the Year

Additionally, University of Minnesota freshman Sarah Potomak was named the National Rookie of the Year. She is the second Gopher to win the award in the last three years, with Camoranesi winning the award in 2014. Potomak also earned the WCHA Freshman of the Year award and was named to the All-WCHA Third Team. Her 1.42 points per game leads the nation’s rookies and ranks eighth overall.

That performance earned her five WCHA Rookie of the Week awards and two WCHA Rookie of the Month awards.

Coach of the Year

Boston College Head Coach Katie Crowley earned Coach of the Year honors for the second straight year. She led BC to be the second team to ever go through the regular season undefeated, with a record of 39-0-0.

She also earned Hockey East Coach of the Year honors for the third consecutive season.

She’s the third coach to win in back-to-back years, following University of Wisconsin coach Mark Johnson (2006 & 2007) and University of Minnesota coach Brad Frost, who won the two years prior to Crowley’s current run.

RELATED: Patty Kazmaier Award Finalists Announced