Docs Menu

Scotiabank Saddledome

Opened:Oct. 15, 1983Home Team:Calgary Flames
Owner:City of CalgaryCapacity:19,289
Location:555 Saddledome Rise SE, Calgary, ABFormer Names:Olympic Saddledome (1983–95)
Canadian Airlines Saddledome (1995–2000)
Pengrowth Saddledome 

Scotiabank Saddledome is a multi-use indoor arena in Calgary, Alberta, Canada. Located in Stampede Park in the southeast end of downtown Calgary, the Saddledome was built in 1983 to replace the Stampede Corral as the home of the Calgary Flames of the National Hockey League and to host ice hockey and figure skating at the 1988 Winter Olympics.

The facility also hosts concerts, conferences, and other sporting championships and events for the Calgary Exhibition and Stampede. It underwent a significant renovation in 1994–95 and sold its naming rights, during which its original name Olympic Saddledome, was changed to Canadian Airlines Saddledome. The facility was named Pengrowth Saddledome in 2000 after Pengrowth Management Ltd. signed a ten-year agreement. It adopted its current name in October 2010 as Scotiabank signed on as the title sponsor.

The Saddledome is owned by the City of Calgary, which leases it to the Saddledome Foundation, a non-profit organization, to oversee its operation. Since 1996, it has been managed by the Flames. The Saddledome was damaged during the 2013 Alberta floods in June and July but was repaired and reopened for the 2013–14 NHL season.

The arena’s roof is shaped like a horse saddle, thus earning the name “Saddledome.”

The Saddledome
Scotiabank Saddledome, Calgary, Alberta (THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jeff McIntosh)

First Game

  • Oct. 15, 1983 – Flames vs. Edmonton Oilers (4-3 loss)

Notable Events

  • Winter Olympics (ice hockey & figure skating) – 1988
  • Stanley Cup Final – 1986, 1989, 2004
  • NHL All-Star Game – 1985
  • NHL Entry Draft – 2000
  • NLL All-Star Game (Lacrosse) – 2005
  • NLL Championship’s Cup (Lacrosse) – 2004, 2009, 2014, 2019
  • World Junior Hockey Championships – 2012
  • Brier Championship (Curling) – 1997, 2002, 2009, 2015
  • Tournament of Hearts (Curling) – 1995
  • World Figure Skating Championship – 2006
  • UFC 149