Docs Menu

Eric Bertrand

Born:Apr 16, 1975Draft: 1994 Devils, 207th Overall
Hometown:St. Ephrem, QuebecPosition:Left Wing
Known For:3x LNAH ChampionShoots:Left
National Team:CanadaCurrent Status:Retired

Eric Bertrand (born April 16, 1975) is a Canadian ice hockey player, having played his final year in the NHL with the Montreal Canadiens during the 2000-2001 season. Drafted 207th overall by the New Jersey Devils in the 1994 NHL Entry Draft, Bertrand joined the Albany River Rats of the American Hockey League (AHL) to begin the process of New Jersey’s slow-burn development. In four full seasons, his role with the club quickly grew along with his point production improving each year. He made his NHL debut in the 1999-2000 season, playing in five games and recording no points and a minus-1 rating.

That same year, Bertrand was packaged with Wes Mason and sent to the Atlanta Thrashers for Sylvain Cloutier, Jeff Williams, and a 2000 7th-round pick. His tenure in Atlanta lasted just eight games, as he was quickly traded to the Philadelphia Flyers for Brian Wesenberg. Bertrand was demoted to the AHL and then the International Hockey League(IHL) for the remainder of the season. He received one last opportunity, this time with his hometown Canadiens, but failed to register a point in three games before being sent down to the AHL for the rest of the year.

His failure to make an impact at the NHL level led to Bertrand’s decision to pursue his career in Europe. From 2001 to 2008, he bounced back and forth between European leagues in Germany and Denmark to lower-tier league Ligue Nord-Américaine de Hockey (LNAH) in Quebec, Canada. In 2009, Bertrand settled for the LNAH, playing stints with four teams over 11 seasons while briefly coaching the Saint-Georges-de-Beauce and serving as a player simultaneously.

Eric Bertrand Statistics

Deeper Dive

Staff History

  • Saint-Georges-de-Beauce COOL-FM, LNAH (Head Coach) 2018-2020


  • DEL Champion (2002)
  • 2x Denmark Bronze Medal Winner (2007, 2008)
  • Danish League All-Star Team (2008)
  • Danish League Most Points (2008)
  • Danish Champion (2009)
  • 3x LNAH Champion (2010, 2011, 2022)
  • LNAH Leadership Award (2015)