Docs Menu

Memorial Cup

The Memorial Cup (Quebec French: Coupe Memorial) is the national championship of the Canadian Hockey League, a consortium of three major junior ice hockey leagues operating in Canada and parts of the United States. It is a four-team round-robin tournament played between the champions of the Ontario Hockey League (OHL), Quebec Major Junior Hockey League (QMJHL) and Western Hockey League (WHL), and a fourth, the hosting team, which alternates between the three leagues annually. The Memorial Cup Trophy was established by Captain James T. Sutherland to honour those who died in service during World War I. It was rededicated during the 2010 tournament to honour all soldiers who died fighting for Canada in any conflict.

Memorial Cup
Memorial Cup (Candice Ward/CHL)

The trophy was originally known as the OHA Memorial Cup and was donated by the Ontario Hockey Association (OHA) in 1919 to be awarded to the junior ice hockey champion of Canada. From its inception until 1971, the Memorial Cup was open to all Junior A teams in the country and was awarded following a series of league, provincial and regional playoffs culminating in an east–west championship. The three-league tournament format began in 1972, a season after the Canadian Amateur Hockey Association divided the Junior A rank into two tiers, naming the Memorial Cup as the championship of the Major Junior level.

The Memorial Cup is sometimes referred to as one of the hardest championships to win in hockey, factoring in the number of teams across the CHL’s member leagues nationwide, the Memorial Cup tournament being played between their top teams, and the limited eligibility period for players to compete at the major junior level.

The Western Hockey League has won the title 19 times since the adoption of the three league tournament format in 1972. The Ontario Hockey League has 17 titles, and the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League has 14.

Since the creation of the Memorial Cup, the Toronto Marlboros have won the most titles with seven. Among currently active teams, the Oshawa Generals lead with five titles, the latest one in 2015, while the Regina Pats follow with four.

Memorial Cup Awards

Stafford Smythe Memorial TrophyMost valuable player1972
George Parsons TrophyMost sportsmanlike player1974
Hap Emms Memorial TrophyOutstanding goaltender1975
Ed Chynoweth TrophyLeading scorer1996
Memorial Cup All-Star TeamBest player at each position1975

Memorial Cup Champions & Challengers

1919 to 1971

1919University of Toronto SchoolsRegina Patricia
1920Toronto Canoe Club PaddlersSelkirk Fishermen
1921Winnipeg Junior FalconsStratford Midgets
1922Fort William Great War VetsRegina Patricia
1923University of Manitoba BisonsKitchener Colts
1924Owen Sound GreysCalgary Canadians
1925Regina PatsToronto Aura Lee
1926Calgary CanadiansQueen’s University
1927Owen Sound GreysPort Arthur West End Jrs.
1928Regina MonarchsOttawa Gunners
1929Toronto MarlborosElmwood Millionaires
1930Regina PatsWest Toronto Nationals
1931Elmwood MillionairesOttawa Primroses
1932Sudbury Cub WolvesWinnipeg Monarchs
1933Newmarket RedmenRegina Pats
1934Toronto St. Michael’s MajorsEdmonton A.C. Athletics
1935Winnipeg MonarchsSudbury Cub Wolves
1936West Toronto NationalsSaskatoon Wesleys
1937Winnipeg MonarchsCopper Cliff Redmen
1938St. Boniface SealsOshawa Generals
1939Oshawa GeneralsEdmonton A.C. Roamers
1940Oshawa GeneralsKenora Thistles
1941Winnipeg RangersMontreal Royals
1942Portage la Prairie TerriersOshawa Generals
1943Winnipeg RangersOshawa Generals
1944Oshawa GeneralsTrail Smoke Eaters
1945Toronto St. Michael’s MajorsMoose Jaw Canucks
1946Winnipeg MonarchsToronto St. Michael’s Majors
1947Toronto St. Michael’s MajorsMoose Jaw Canucks
1948Port Arthur West End BruinsBarrie Flyers
1949Montreal RoyalsBrandon Wheat Kings
1950Montreal Junior CanadiensRegina Pats
1951Barrie FlyersWinnipeg Monarchs
1952Guelph Biltmore Mad HattersRegina Pats
1953Barrie FlyersSt. Boniface Canadiens
1954St. Catharines TeepeesEdmonton Oil Kings
1955Toronto MarlborosRegina Pats
1956Toronto MarlborosRegina Pats
1957Flin Flon BombersOttawa-Hull Junior Canadiens
1958Ottawa-Hull Junior CanadiensRegina Pats
1959Winnipeg BravesPeterborough TPT Petes
1960St. Catharines TeepeesEdmonton Oil Kings
1961Toronto St. Michael’s MajorsEdmonton Oil Kings
1962Hamilton Red WingsEdmonton Oil Kings
1963Edmonton Oil KingsNiagara Falls Flyers
1964Toronto MarlborosEdmonton Oil Kings
1965Niagara Falls FlyersEdmonton Oil Kings
1966Edmonton Oil KingsOshawa Generals
1967Toronto MarlborosPort Arthur Marrs
1968Niagara Falls FlyersEstevan Bruins
1969Montreal Junior CanadiensRegina Pats
1970Montreal Junior CanadiensWeyburn Red Wings
1971Quebec RempartsEdmonton Oil Kings

1972 to 1982

1972Cornwall Royals (QMJHL)Peterborough Petes (OHA)
1973Toronto Marlboros (OHA)Quebec Remparts (QMJHL)
1974Regina Pats (WCHL)Quebec Remparts (QMJHL)
1975Toronto Marlboros (OHA)New Westminster Bruins (WCHL)
1976Hamilton Fincups (OHA)New Westminster Bruins (WCHL)
1977New Westminster Bruins (WCHL)Ottawa 67’s (OHA)
1978New Westminster Bruins (WHL)Peterborough Petes (OHA)
1979Peterborough Petes (OHA)Brandon Wheat Kings (WHL)
1980Cornwall Royals (QMJHL)Peterborough Petes (OHA)
1981Cornwall Royals (QMJHL)Kitchener Rangers (OHL)
1982Kitchener Rangers (OHL)Sherbrooke Castors (QMJHL)

1983 to present

1983Portland Winter Hawks (WHL)Oshawa Generals (OHL)
1984Ottawa 67’s (OHL)Kitchener Rangers (OHL)
1985Prince Albert Raiders (WHL)Shawinigan Cataractes (QMJHL)
1986Guelph Platers (OHL)Hull Olympiques (QMJHL)
1987Medicine Hat Tigers (WHL)Oshawa Generals (OHL)
1988Medicine Hat Tigers (WHL)Windsor Spitfires (OHL)
1989Swift Current Broncos (WHL)Saskatoon Blades (WHL)
1990Oshawa Generals (OHL)Kitchener Rangers (OHL)[c]
1991Spokane Chiefs (WHL)Drummondville Voltigeurs (QMJHL)[d]
1992Kamloops Blazers (WHL)Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds (OHL)
1993Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds (OHL)[e]Peterborough Petes (OHL)
1994Kamloops Blazers (WHL)Laval Titan (QMJHL)
1995Kamloops Blazers (WHL)Detroit Junior Red Wings (OHL)
1996Granby Prédateurs (QMJHL)Peterborough Petes (OHL)
1997Hull Olympiques (QMJHL)Lethbridge Hurricanes (WHL)
1998Portland Winter Hawks (WHL)Guelph Storm (OHL)
1999Ottawa 67’s (OHL)Calgary Hitmen (WHL)
2000Rimouski Océanic (QMJHL)Barrie Colts (OHL)
2001Red Deer Rebels (WHL)Val-d’Or Foreurs (QMJHL)
2002Kootenay Ice (WHL)Victoriaville Tigres (QMJHL)
2003Kitchener Rangers (OHL)Hull Olympiques (QMJHL)
2004Kelowna Rockets (WHL)Gatineau Olympiques (QMJHL)
2005London Knights (OHL)Rimouski Océanic (QMJHL)
2006Quebec Remparts (QMJHL)Moncton Wildcats (QMJHL)
2007Vancouver Giants (WHL)Medicine Hat Tigers (WHL)
2008Spokane Chiefs (WHL)Kitchener Rangers (OHL)
2009Windsor Spitfires (OHL)Kelowna Rockets (WHL)
2010Windsor Spitfires (OHL)Brandon Wheat Kings (WHL)
2011Saint John Sea Dogs (QMJHL)Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors (OHL)
2012Shawinigan Cataractes (QMJHL)London Knights (OHL)
2013Halifax Mooseheads (QMJHL)Portland Winterhawks (WHL)
2014Edmonton Oil Kings (WHL)Guelph Storm (OHL)
2015Oshawa Generals (OHL)Kelowna Rockets (WHL)
2016London Knights (OHL)Rouyn-Noranda Huskies (QMJHL)
2017Windsor Spitfires (OHL)Erie Otters (OHL)
2018Acadie-Bathurst Titan (QMJHL)Regina Pats (WHL)
2019Rouyn-Noranda Huskies (QMJHL)Halifax Mooseheads (QMJHL)
2020 Cancelled due to COVID-19
2021 Cancelled due to COVID-19
2022Saint John Sea Dogs (QMJHL)Hamilton Bulldogs (OHL)
2023Quebec Remparts (QMJHL)Seattle Thunderbirds (WHL)