Docs Menu

Grant Fuhr

Born:September 28, 1962Draft:1981 Oilers, 8th Overall
Hometown:Spruce Grove, AlbertaPosition:Goaltender
Known For:First Black Player in
Hockey Hall of Fame
National Team:Canada

Grant Scott Fuhr (born September 28, 1962) is a Canadian former ice hockey goaltender in the National Hockey League and former goaltending coach for the Arizona Coyotes. In 2003, he was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame. He is best remembered for a decade of stellar play for the Edmonton Oilers in the 1980s. He won a total of five Stanley Cups and was a six time All-Star. In 2017 Fuhr was named one of the ‘100 Greatest NHL Players’ in history. He set a number of firsts for black hockey players in the NHL, including being the first to win the Stanley Cup and being the first inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame.

Grant Fuhr, Edmonton Oilers

Grant Fuhr Statistics

Trade Tracker

DateTraded FromTraded WithTraded ToTraded For
September 19, 1991Glenn Anderson
Craig Berube
Vincent Damphousse
Peter Ing
Luke Richardson
Scott Thornton
February 2, 1993Fifth-Round Pick
(Kevin Popp)
First-Round Pick
(Kenny Jonsson)
Dave Andreychuk
Daren Puppa
February 14, 1995Philippe Boucher
Denis Tsygarov
Fifth-Round Pick
(Marian Menhart)
Charlie Huddy
Robb Stauber
Alexei Zhitnik
September 4, 1999Third-Round Pick
(Justin Papineau)

Deeper Dive


  • NHL Record for Longest Unbeaten Streak by Rookie Goaltender (23 games in 1981-82)
  • NHL Record for Assists by a Goaltender in a Season (14 in 1983-84)
  • NHL Record for Most Games Played by a Goaltender in a Season (79 in 1995-96)
  • Canada Cup Gold Medal — 1984, 1987
  • IIHF World Championships Silver Medal — 1989
  • NHL First Team All-Star — 1988
  • NHL Second Team All-Star — 1982
  • NHL All-Star Game — 1982, 1984, 1985, 1986, 1988, 1989
  • Vezina Trophy — 1988
  • William M. Jennings Trophy — 1994
  • Stanley Cup Champion — 1984, 1985, 1987, 1988, 1990
  • No. 31 Jersey Retired by Oilers — 2003
  • Inducted Into Hockey Hall of Fame — 2003
  • Inducted Into Alberta Sports Hall of Fame — 2004