Docs Menu

Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy

The Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy, also known as the Rocket Richard Trophy, is awarded annually to the leading goal scorer in the National Hockey League (NHL). It was donated to the NHL by the Montreal Canadiens in 1998–99 and is named in honour of legendary Montreal Canadiens right winger Maurice “Rocket” Richard. First won by Teemu Selanne, it is currently held by Auston Matthews who scored 69 goals last season.

Maurice "Rocket" Richard Trophy
Maurice “Rocket” Richard was the first to score 50 goals in an NHL season. The league now presents a trophy named in his honor to the season’s top goal-scoer. (Kmf164)

Who Has Won the Most Rocket Richard Trophies?

Since the Rocket Richard Trophy was first awarded after the 1998-99 season, Wayne Gretzky does not appear on this particular leaderboard. That honour belongs to the “Great 8” Alexander Ovechkin. He has won the trophy nine times, with Pavel Bure, Jarome Iginla, Steven Stamkos, and Sidney Crosby tied for second with only two.

How Many Rocket Richard Trophies Would Wayne Gretzky Have?

During the many seasons that Gretzky led the NHL in goals, he would have five Rocket Richard Trophies. So the Great 8 would still have the jump on the Great One in this particular category if the trophy was unveiled earlier than 1999.

Deeper Dive

Oldest & Youngest Rocket Richard Winners

Youngest to win the award: 19-years old, Rick Nash – 2003-04, 41 goals & Steven Stamkos – 2009-10, 51 goals

Oldest player to win the award: 34-years old, Alexander Ovechkin – 2019-20, 49 goals

Average age: 26.5-years old

Alex Ovechkin Washington Capitals 700 goals
Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals, acknowledges the crowd as he is honored for scoring 700 career NHL goals, Feb. 25, 2020 in Washington, DC. (Photo by Patrick Smith/Getty Images)

Rocket Richard Trophy Winners

SeasonWinnerTeamGoalsWin #
1998–99Teemu SelanneMighty Ducks of Anaheim471 (3)
1999–2000Pavel BureFlorida Panthers581 (2)
2000–01Pavel BureFlorida Panthers592 (3)
2001–02Jarome IginlaCalgary Flames521
2002–03Milan HejdukColorado Avalanche501
2003–04Jarome IginlaCalgary Flames412
2003–04Rick NashColumbus Blue Jackets411
2003–04Ilya KovalchukAtlanta Thrashers411
2004–05NHL Lockout – No Winner
2005–06Jonathan CheechooSan Jose Sharks561
2006–07Vincent LecavalierTampa Bay Lightning521
2007–08Alexander OvechkinWashington Capitals651
2008–09Alexander OvechkinWashington Capitals562
2009–10Sidney CrosbyPittsburgh Penguins511
2009–10Steven StamkosTampa Bay Lightning511
2010–11Corey PerryAnaheim Ducks501
2011–12Steven StamkosTampa Bay Lightning602
2012–13*Alexander OvechkinWashington Capitals323
2013–14Alexander OvechkinWashington Capitals514
2014–15Alexander OvechkinWashington Capitals535
2015–16Alexander OvechkinWashington Capitals506
2016–17Sidney CrosbyPittsburgh Penguins442
2017–18Alexander OvechkinWashington Capitals497
2018–19Alexander OvechkinWashington Capitals518
2019–20**Alexander OvechkinWashington Capitals489
2019–20**David PastrnakBoston Bruins481
2020–21**Auston MatthewsToronto Maple Leafs411
2022–23Connor McDavidEdmonton Oilers641
2023-24Auston MatthewsToronto Maple Leafs692
**COVID-19 shortened season