Docs Menu

Hart Memorial Trophy

The Hart Memorial Trophy, originally known as the Hart Trophy, is awarded annually to the “player judged most valuable to his team” in the National Hockey League (NHL). The original trophy was donated to the league in 1923 by David Hart, the father of Cecil Hart, the longtime head coach of the Montreal Canadiens. The Hart Trophy has been awarded 93 times to 56 different players since its beginnings in 1924. Each year, members of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association vote to determine the player who was the most valuable to his team during the regular season. The current holder of the trophy is Auston Matthews of the Toronto Maple Leafs.

Alex Ovechkin Sidney Crosby Carey Price Patrick Kane

Who Has Won the Most Hart Trophies?

Of course, the greatest player to ever play the game, Wayne Gretzky has won the most Hart Trophies clocking in with a staggering nine wins. In fact, he won it eight seasons in a row between 1980 and 1987. The next closest is the one and only Mr. Hockey himself aka Gordie Howe with six.

How is the Winner Chosen for the Hart Trophy?

Members of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association vote at the end of the regular season, and each individual voter ranks their top five candidates on a 10–7–5–3–1 point(s) system. Three finalists are named and the trophy is awarded at the NHL awards ceremony after the conclusion of the playoffs.

How Many Goaltenders Have Won the Hart Trophy?

Only seven goaltenders have been given the distinction of winning the Hart Trophy. They include Roy Worters, Chuck Rayner, Al Rollins, Jacques Plante, Dominik Hasek, Jose Theodore, and Carey Price. Only Hasek has won the award multiple times, walking away with it in 1997 and 1998.

Has Anyone Unanimously Won the Hart Trophy?

No, but Mario Lemieux came close in 1993 when he won the scoring title by 12 points despite missing two months during the season due to cancer treatments. One writer voted for Pat Lafontaine, who was the runner-up in the scoring race.

Lemieux Broke Gretzky’s Streak in 1988

Lemieux may have won the trophy, but still admitted that Gretzky was the best in the game.

“The only reason Gretzky did not win the Hart is because he was hurt.”

Mario Lemieux
Mario Lemieux Pittsburgh Penguins
Mario Lemieux, Pittsburgh Penguins (Photo by Bruce Bennett Studios via Getty Images Studios/Getty Images)

Deeper Dive

Oldest & Youngest Hart Winners

Youngest to win the award: 19-years old, Sidney Crosby – 2006-07 & Wayne Gretzky – 1979-80

Oldest to win the award: 35-years old, Herb Gardiner – 1926-27 & Eddie Shore – 1937-38

Average age: 27-years old

…from NHL Awards Oldest & Youngest

Wayne Gretzky #99 of the Edmonton Oilers
1982: Wayne Gretzky #99 of the Edmonton Oilers skates with the puck during a game in 1982. Wayne Gretzky played for the Edmonton Oilers from 1979 – 1988. (Photo by Bruce Bennett Studios/Getty Images)

Hart Memorial Trophy Winners

SeasonWinnerTeamWin #
1923–24Frank NighborOttawa Senators1
1924–25Billy BurchHamilton Tigers1
1925–26Nels StewartMontreal Maroons1
1926–27Herb GardinerMontreal Canadiens1
1927–28Howie MorenzMontreal Canadiens1
1928–29Roy WortersNew York Americans1
1929–30Nels StewartMontreal Maroons2
1930–31Howie MorenzMontreal Canadiens2
1931–32Howie MorenzMontreal Canadiens3
1932–33Eddie ShoreBoston Bruins1
1933–34Aurele JoliatMontreal Canadiens1
1934–35Eddie ShoreBoston Bruins2
1935–36Eddie ShoreBoston Bruins3
1936–37Babe SiebertMontreal Canadiens1
1937–38Eddie ShoreBoston Bruins4
1938–39Toe BlakeMontreal Canadiens1
1939–40Ebbie GoodfellowDetroit Red Wings1
1940–41Bill CowleyBoston Bruins1
1941–42Tommy AndersonBrooklyn Americans1
1942–43Bill CowleyBoston Bruins2
1943–44Babe PrattToronto Maple Leafs1
1944–45Elmer LachMontreal Canadiens1
1945–46Max BentleyChicago Black Hawks1
1946–47Maurice RichardMontreal Canadiens1
1947–48Buddy O’ConnorNew York Rangers1
1948–49Sid AbelDetroit Red Wings1
1949–50Chuck RaynerNew York Rangers1
1950–51Milt SchmidtBoston Bruins1
1951–52Gordie HoweDetroit Red Wings1
1952–53Gordie HoweDetroit Red Wings2
1953–54Al RollinsChicago Black Hawks1
1954–55Ted KennedyToronto Maple Leafs1
1955–56Jean BeliveauMontreal Canadiens1
1956–57Gordie HoweDetroit Red Wings3
1957–58Gordie HoweDetroit Red Wings4
1958–59Andy BathgateNew York Rangers1
1959–60Gordie HoweDetroit Red Wings5
1960–61Bernie GeoffrionMontreal Canadiens1
1961–62Jacques PlanteMontreal Canadiens1
1962–63Gordie HoweDetroit Red Wings6
1963–64Jean BeliveauMontreal Canadiens2
1964–65Bobby HullChicago Black Hawks1
1965–66Bobby HullChicago Black Hawks2
1966–67Stan MikitaChicago Black Hawks1
1967–68Stan MikitaChicago Black Hawks2
1968–69Phil EspositoBoston Bruins1
1969–70Bobby OrrBoston Bruins1
1970–71Bobby OrrBoston Bruins2
1971–72Bobby OrrBoston Bruins3
1972–73Bobby ClarkePhiladelphia Flyers1
1973–74Phil EspositoBoston Bruins2
1974–75Bobby ClarkePhiladelphia Flyers2
1975–76Bobby ClarkePhiladelphia Flyers3
1976–77Guy LafleurMontreal Canadiens1
1977–78Guy LafleurMontreal Canadiens2
1978–79Bryan TrottierNew York Islanders1
1979–80Wayne GretzkyEdmonton Oilers1
1980–81Wayne GretzkyEdmonton Oilers2
1981–82Wayne GretzkyEdmonton Oilers3
1982–83Wayne GretzkyEdmonton Oilers4
1983–84Wayne GretzkyEdmonton Oilers5
1984–85Wayne GretzkyEdmonton Oilers6
1985–86Wayne GretzkyEdmonton Oilers7
1986–87Wayne GretzkyEdmonton Oilers8
1987–88Mario LemieuxPittsburgh Penguins1
1988–89Wayne GretzkyLos Angeles Kings9
1989–90Mark MessierEdmonton Oilers1
1990–91Brett HullSt. Louis Blues1
1991–92Mark MessierNew York Rangers2
1992–93Mario LemieuxPittsburgh Penguins2
1993–94Sergei FedorovDetroit Red Wings1
1994–95Eric LindrosPhiladelphia Flyers1
1995–96Mario LemieuxPittsburgh Penguins3
1996–97Dominik HasekBuffalo Sabres1
1997–98Dominik HasekBuffalo Sabres2
1998–99Jaromir JagrPittsburgh Penguins1
1999–2000Chris ProngerSt. Louis Blues1
2000–01Joe SakicColorado Avalanche1
2001–02Jose TheodoreMontreal Canadiens1
2002–03Peter ForsbergColorado Avalanche1
2003–04Martin St. LouisTampa Bay Lightning1
2004–052004-05 NHL lockout – No winner
2005–06Joe ThorntonBoston Bruins/San Jose Sharks1
2006–07Sidney CrosbyPittsburgh Penguins1
2007–08Alexander OvechkinWashington Capitals1
2008–09Alexander OvechkinWashington Capitals2
2009–10Henrik SedinVancouver Canucks1
2010–11Corey PerryAnaheim Ducks1
2011–12Evgeni MalkinPittsburgh Penguins1
2012–13Alexander OvechkinWashington Capitals3
2013–14Sidney CrosbyPittsburgh Penguins2
2014–15Carey PriceMontreal Canadiens1
2015–16Patrick KaneChicago Blackhawks1
2016–17Connor McDavidEdmonton Oilers1
2017–18Taylor HallNew Jersey Devils1
2018–19Nikita KucherovTampa Bay Lightning1
2019–20Leon DraisaitlEdmonton Oilers1
2020–21Connor McDavidEdmonton Oilers2
2021–22Auston MatthewsToronto Maple Leafs1
2022-23Connor McDavidEdmonton Oilers3