Docs Menu

Ted Lindsay Award

The Ted Lindsay Award, formerly known as the Lester B. Pearson Award, is awarded annually to the National Hockey League’s most outstanding player in the regular season as judged by the members of the NHL Players’ Association. First awarded in 1971, it is a companion to the Hart Memorial Trophy, which is awarded to the League’s Most Valuable Player, as judged by members of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association. The award was renamed in 2010 after Ted Lindsay of the Detroit Red Wings.

The current holder of the trophy is Connor McDavid of the Edmonton Oilers.

Hart Norris Calder Vezina Trophy Ted Lindsey Award
The Hart, Norris, Calder, and Vezina trophies and the Ted Lindsay Award are seen on stage during the 2022 NHL Awards at Armature Works on June 21, 2022, in Tampa, Florida. (Photo by Mark LoMoglio/NHLI via Getty Images)

Who Has Won the Most Ted Lindsay Trophies?

Thus far, 30 different players have won the Ted Lindsay Award, with Wayne Gretzky holding the record with five wins. However, his spot at the top is being challenged by another Edmonton Oilers’ captain, Connor McDavid, who just won his fourth title, tying Mario Lemieux for the second most wins.

Deeper Dive

Oldest & Youngest Art Ross Winners

Youngest to win the award: Sidney Crosby – 19 years old (2006-07)

Oldest to win the award: Jaromir Jagr – 33 years old (2005-06)

Average age: 26-years old

…from NHL Awards Oldest & Youngest

Ted Lindsay Award Winners

SeasonWinnerTeamWin #
Lester B. Pearson Award Winners
1970–71Phil EspositoBoston Bruins1
1971–72Jean RatelleNew York Rangers1
1972–73Bobby ClarkePhiladelphia Flyers1
1973–74Phil EspositoBoston Bruins2
1974–75Bobby OrrBoston Bruins1
1975–76Guy LafleurMontreal Canadiens1
1976–77Guy LafleurMontreal Canadiens2
1977–78Guy LafleurMontreal Canadiens3
1978–79Marcel DionneLos Angeles Kings1
1979–80Marcel DionneLos Angeles Kings2
1980–81Mike LuitSt. Louis Blues1
1981–82Wayne GretzkyEdmonton Oilers1
1982–83Wayne GretzkyEdmonton Oilers2
1983–84Wayne GretzkyEdmonton Oilers3
1984–85Wayne GretzkyEdmonton Oilers4
1985–86Mario LemieuxPittsburgh Penguins1
1986–87Wayne GretzkyEdmonton Oilers5
1987–88Mario LemieuxPittsburgh Penguins2
1988–89Steve YzermanDetroit Red Wings1
1989–90Mark MessierEdmonton Oilers1
1990–91Brett HullSt. Louis Blues1
1991–92Mark MessierNew York Rangers2
1992–93Mario LemieuxPittsburgh Penguins3
1993–94Sergei FedorovDetroit Red Wings1
1994–95Eric LindrosPhiladelphia Flyers1
1995–96Mario LemieuxPittsburgh Penguins4
1996–97Dominik HasekBuffalo Sabres1
1997–98Dominik HasekBuffalo Sabres2
1998–99Jaromir JagrPittsburgh Penguins1
1999–2000Jaromir JagrPittsburgh Penguins2
2000–01Joe SakicColorado Avalanche1
2001–02Jarome IginlaCalgary Flames1
2002–03Peter ForsbergColorado Avalanche1
2003–04Martin St. LouisTampa Bay Lightning1
2004–05NHL Lockout – No Winner
2005–06Jaromir JagrNew York Rangers3
2006–07Sidney CrosbyPittsburgh Penguins1
2007–08Alexander OvechkinWashington Capitals1
2008–09Alexander OvechkinWashington Capitals2
2009–10Alexander OvechkinWashington Capitals3
Ted Lindsay Award Winners
2010–11Daniel SedinVancouver Canucks1
2011–12Evgeni MalkinPittsburgh Penguins1
2012–13Sidney CrosbyPittsburgh Penguins2
2013–14Sidney CrosbyPittsburgh Penguins3
2014–15Carey PriceMontreal Canadiens1
2015–16Patrick KaneChicago Blackhawks1
2016–17Connor McDavidEdmonton Oilers1
2017–18Connor McDavidEdmonton Oilers2
2018–19Nikita KucherovTampa Bay Lightning1
2019–20**Leon DraisaitlEdmonton Oilers1
2020-21** Connor McDavidEdmonton Oilers3
2021-22Auston MatthewsToronto Maple Leafs1
2022-23Connor McDavidEdmonton Oilers4
**COVID-19 shortened season